Directory of Experts
Back to search results

Research interests and affiliations

Research interests

Dr. Maghoul’s research interests focuses on the development of cutting-edge R&D programs related to the fundamental understanding of complex porous media and performance analysis of subsurface systems subject to complex loading within a multi-hazard context. This includes infrastructure which is resilient to climate change and geohazards on Earth and harsh environments in Space (low gravity conditions). These poromechanics-centered research programs deal with natural- and human-induced hazards, permafrost engineering, geostructural health monitoring, non-destructive testing, risk assessment, energy geostructures, geotechnical earthquake engineering and ground vibration, as well as bio-inspired self-burrowing (soft) robotics, bio-inspired subsurface sensing, and In-Situ Resource Utilization (ISRU) on the Moon and beyond.

  • Mechanics of Multiphase Porous Media
  • Computational Mechanics
  • Fundamental Behaviors of Geomaterials
  • Northern Infrastructure
  • Permafrost
  • Transportation Geotechnics
  • Wave Analysis (Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering, Ground Vibrations, Seismic Geophysics, Ultrasonic Characterization of Materials)
  • Geohazards (landslide, earthquake, and climate change)
  • Renewable Geothermal Energy
  • Non-Destructive-Testing Techniques
  • Soil-Structure Interaction
  • Bio-Inspired Solutions Toward Sustainable and Smart Geotechnics
Expertise type(s) (NSERC subjects)
  • 1002 Geotechnical engineering (including engineering geology)
  • 1107 Earthquake engineering
  • 2101 Solid mechanics
  • 2103 Plasticity, creep
  • 2104 Vibrations
  • 2106 Stress analysis
  • 2107 Modelling, simulation and finite element methods
  • 2951 Continuum mechanics
  • 2953 Wave propagation
  • 2955 Numerical analysis
  • 2960 Mathematical modelling
  • 3109 Acoustics
  • 4304 Applied geophysics

Biography

Dr. Pooneh Maghoul is an engineer and Associate Professor of Civil Engineering at Polytechnique Montréal. She is the founder and director of the Sustainable Infrastructure and Geomechanical Research Laboratory. She has over 14 years of teaching, research and development, and industrial experience in Canada and France. Dr. Maghoul chairs the Education Committee of the Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS). She also serves on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Geotechnical Society as well as the Canadian Permafrost Association (CPA).

Dr. Maghoul develops cutting-edge research and development (R&D) programs related to the fundamental understanding of porous materials and performance of subsurface systems subject to complex loading within a multi-hazard context on Earth and in Space. She leads several high-risk/high-reward research projects related to the impact of climate warming on northern infrastructure and finding water-ice and underground cavities for future human habitats on the Moon and beyond.

Dr. Maghoul has received several international and national awards including best paper awards in international journals and conferences, Canada’s Outstanding Young Geotechnical Engineer for her significant contributions to teaching and mentorship, research and practice in geotechnical engineering, and exceptional service to the geotechnical engineering community.

Teaching

  • CIV3415 Soil Mechanics

Education

Press review about Pooneh Maghoul

September 28, 2021, Journal Le Nord, Les ornières seront réparées Dans cet article, Pooneh Maghoul, professeure agrégée au Département des génies civil, géologique et des mines de Polytechnique Montréal, discute à propos de la formation des ornières sur les routes.

Répertoire des expertises
Retour aux résultats de recherche

Intérêts de recherche et affiliations

Intérêts de recherche

Les intérêts de recherche de professeure Maghoul se concentrent sur la compréhension fondamentale des milieux poreux complexes (géométraux et biomatériaux) et sur l'analyse des performances des systèmes souterrains soumis à des charges complexes dans un contexte multirisque. Cela comprend les infrastructures résilientes au changement climatique et aux géorisques sur Terre et aux environnements extrêmes dans l'espace (conditions de faible gravité). Ces programmes de recherche axés sur la poromécanique traitent des risques naturels et d'origine humaine, de l'ingénierie du pergélisol, de la surveillance de la santé structurelle des géostructures, des essais non destructifs (NDT), de l'évaluation des risques, des géostructures énergétiques, de l'ingénierie géotechnique sismique et des vibrations du sol, ainsi que de la robotique auto-enfouissante bio-inspirée, de la détection de sous-surface bio-inspirée, et de l'utilisation des ressources in situ (ISRU) sur la Lune et au-delà.

  • Mécanique des milieux poreux multiphasiques
  • Méthode et modélisation numérique
  • Comportements fondamentaux des géomatériaux
  • Infrastructures nordiques
  • Pergélisol
  • Géotechnique routière
  • Analyse des ondes (Ingénierie géotechnique et sismique, Géophysique sismique, Caractérisation ultrasonore des matériaux)
  • Géorisques (glissement de terrain, tremblement de terre et changement climatique)
  • Énergie géothermique renouvelable
  • Techniques d'essais non destructifs (NDT)
  • Interaction sol-structure
  • Solutions bio-inspirées vers une géotechnique durable et intelligente
Type(s) d'expertises (sujets CRSNG)
  • 1002 Géotechnique (y compris génie géologique)
  • 1107 Génie parasismique
  • 2101 Mécanique des solides
  • 2103 Plasticité, fluage
  • 2104 Vibrations
  • 2106 Analyse des contraintes
  • 2107 Modélisation, simulation et méthodes des éléments finis
  • 2951 Mécanique des milieux continus
  • 2953 Propagation des ondes
  • 2955 Analyse numérique
  • 2960 Modélisation mathématique
  • 3109 Acoustique
  • 4304 Géophysique appliquée

Publications

Publications récentes
Communication de conférence
Liu, H. & Maghoul, P. (2021). Apollo seismic data interpretation using an elastodynamic space-time spectral element technique and dispersion image inversion method. Communication présentée à 17th Biennial International Conference on Engineering, Science, Construction, and Operations in Challenging Environments (Earth and Space), Seattle, Washington (p. 99-107).
Chapitre de livre
Liu, H., Maghoul, P. & Shalaby, A. (2021). A poro-elastodynamic forward solver for dispersion analysis of saturated multilayer systems. Dans Challenges and Innovations in Geomechanics (p. 637-644). Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-64518-2_75
Article de revue
Moussa, A., Shalaby, A., Kavanagh, L. & Maghoul, P. (2021). Closure to "Use of rigid geofoam insulation to mitigate frost heave at shallow culvert installations" by Ahmed Moussa, Ahmed Shalaby, Leonnie Kavanagh, and Pooneh Maghoul. Journal of Cold Regions Engineering, 35(1), 2 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1061/(asce)cr.1943-5495.0000237
Communication de conférence
Cui, S., Wu, N., Maghoul, P., Liang, X. & Wang, Q. (2021). Crack locating based on Wavelet transformation and entropy. Communication présentée à 8th International Conference on Vibration Engineering (ICVE 2021), Shanghai, China.

Biographie

Dre Pooneh Maghoul est une ingénieure et professeure agrégée en génie civil à Polytechnique Montréal. Elle est fondatrice et directrice du laboratoire de recherche géomécanique sur les infrastructures durables (SIGLAB). Elle a plus de 14 ans d'expérience d’enseignement, de recherche et développement et d'expérience industrielle au Canada et en France. Professeure Maghoul préside le comité d'éducation de la Société Canadienne de Géotechnique (SCG). Elle siège également au conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne de géotechnique ainsi que de l'Association canadienne du pergélisol (ACP).

Professeure Maghoul développe des programmes de recherche et développement (R&D) de pointe liés à la compréhension fondamentale des matériaux poreux et des performances des systèmes souterrains soumis à des charges complexes dans un contexte multirisque sur Terre et dans l'espace. Elle dirige plusieurs projets de recherche à haut risque et à haut rendement liés à l'impact du réchauffement climatique sur les infrastructures nordiques mais aussi portant sur la recherche d'eau et de cavités souterraines propices à l’établissement de bases habitables lunaires, sur Mars et au-delà.

Professeure Maghoul a reçu plusieurs prix internationaux et nationaux, notamment les prix du meilleur article dans des revues et conférences internationales, le prix du jeune ingénieur exceptionnel en géotechnique du Canada pour ses contributions importantes à l'enseignement et au mentorat, à la recherche et à la pratique en génie géotechnique, et pour ses services exceptionnels à la communauté du génie géotechnique.

Enseignement

  • CIV3415 Mécanique des sols

Formation

  • Postdoc (2010-2012), Géotechnique, Université Laval, Québec (QC), Canada
  • Ph.D. (2007–2010), Géotechnique, École des Ponts ParisTech, Paris, France
  • M.Sc. (2006–2007), Mécanique des sols, des roches et des ouvrages dans leur environnement (MSROE), École des Ponts ParisTech, Paris, France
  • Diplôme d'Ingénieur (2002–2006), Génie Civil, University of Tehran, Téhéran, Iran

Nouvelle(s) concernant Pooneh Maghoul

MAGAZINE POLY | 29 octobre 2021
Du Grand Nord canadien au pôle Sud lunaire | Lire
BLOGUE | 26 octobre 2021
Pergélisol : apprendre à construire sur des sables mouvants | Lire

Revue de presse concernant Pooneh Maghoul

10 novembre 2021, Radio-Canada, Entrevue avec Pooneh Maghoul : Objectif lune - Pénélope Dans cet extrait, Pooneh Maghoul, professeure agrégée au Département des génies civil, géologique et des mines de Polytechnique Montréal, discute à propos de ses travaux de recherche sur le pergélisol du Grand Nord, qui pourraient servir à l’établissement d’une base habitable sur la Lune.
28 septembre 2021, Journal Le Nord, Les ornières seront réparées Dans cet article, Pooneh Maghoul, professeure agrégée au Département des génies civil, géologique et des mines de Polytechnique Montréal, discute à propos de la formation des ornières sur les routes.