Engineering Physics

You are here

Stéphane Kéna Cohen

Photoni ● Optoelectronic materials ● Quantique


Stéphane Kéna-Cohen is an adjunct professor who heads the Laboratory for Nanostructured and Molecular Photonics and holds the Canada Research Chair in Hybrid and Molecular Photonics.

His research specializations are in the physics of solids, optics and advanced materials, leading to development of optoelectronic components.
 

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielTél. (514) 340-4711 extension 2421

Optoelectronics

Optoelectronics is everywhere around us: it is essential to the operation of the Internet, used for lighting and displays, and for solar energy generation. It will also be an integral part of future quantum networks and quantum technologies. Professor Kéna-Cohen is developing optoelectronic devices with novel properties using nanostructured, hybrid and molecular materials. The members of his group harness these materials to develop low-cost LEDs, highly efficient solar cells, tunable lasers, and single-photon sources for quantum computing. His laboratory fabricates optoelectronic components from the ground up: including design, fabrication and characterization of the final device.

... NOVEL materials

To study the properties of novel materials and how best to use them within devices, his group uses advanced laser spectroscopy and electrical characterization techniques.

He is particularly interested in light-material interaction and is well-known for his work on polaritons: half-light, half-matter quasiparticles. By manipulating materials on the nanoscale, his group can modify material properties in a way that is useful for conventional devices (modified absorption and emission) and for quantum technologies, which rely on controlling the wavefunction, coherence, and spin of electronic excitations.

Propagation of polaritons in normal (high) and superfluid (low) regime.
Courtesy of Lorenzo Dominici.

If fabricating novel optoelectronic devices from the ground-up or studying the physics of novel materials using laser spectroscopy is of interest to you, do not hesitate to contact Prof. Kéna-Cohen for more information.

Génie Physique

Vous êtes ici

Stéphane Kéna Cohen

Photonique ● Composants Optoélectroniques ● Quantique


Stéphane Kéna-Cohen est professeur adjoint, responsable du laboratoire de photonique nanostructurée et moléculaire et de la Chaire de Recherche du Canada en Photonique Hybride et Moléculaire.

Spécialisé en physique du solide, optique et matériaux de pointe, ses recherches conduisent au développement de composants optoélectroniques.
 

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielTél. (514) 340-4711 poste 2421

L’optoélectronique au service du quotidien

L’optoélectronique est omniprésente  dans nos vies: elle est essentielle au fonctionnement de l’internet, utilisée pour l’éclairage et l’affichage, présente dans les cellules solaires et pour la génération d’énergie. De plus, elle fera partie intégrante de l’information quantique de demain. Le prof. Kéna-Cohen développe des dispositifs optoélectroniques avec des propriétés novatrices à base de matériaux nanostructurés, hybrides et moléculaires. Ces matériaux de pointe permettent à son groupe de développer des diodes électroluminescentes flexibles et à faible coût, des cellules solaires hautement efficaces, des lasers accordables et des sources de photons uniques pour l’information quantique. Dans son laboratoire, le développement de composants optoélectroniques se fait à tous les stades, de la conception, jusqu’à la fabrication et la caractérisation du produit final.

Le dessous des matériaux

Afin d’apprivoiser le comportement des matériaux fabriqués dans son groupe, le prof. Kéna-Cohen étudie leurs propriétés optoélectroniques à l’aide de techniques de spectroscopie laser et électroniques.

Il possède enfin une forte expertise en interaction lumière-matière notamment reconnue pour ses travaux sur les polaritons, des quasi-particules lumière-matière. En manipulant les matériaux à une échelle au-dessous de la longueur d’onde de la lumière, il devient alors possible de faire émerger des nouvelles propriétés utiles pour la fabrication de dispositifs conventionnels (absorption, émission) et pour les technologies quantiques, qui reposent sur le contrôle de la fonction d'onde, la cohérence et le spin des matériaux.

Routeur constitué de guides d'ondes asymétriques 1D avec polariton
(c) Laboratoire de photonique nanostructurée et moléculaire