Engineering Physics

You are here

Michel Meunier

Nanotechnology ● Theranostics ● Biomedical


Professor Michel Meunier, of the Department of Engineering Physics, is the head of the Laser Processing and Plasmonics Laboratory.

Within its walls, his team is hard at work creating new nanomaterials and biomedical tools for use in theranostics. Their goal: develop nanoparticles useful for both diagnosis (medical imaging and biosensors) and therapy (surgery, treatments).

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielLinkedinTél.(514) 340-4711 extension 4971

Nanoparticles at the service of medical imaging 

Professor Meunier’s team has developed a new approach to synthesis of gold-silver alloy nanomaterials, with fine control of their composition and size. Because the alloy is biocompatible and the nanomaterials have special optical properties reliant on surface plasmon resonance, they can be used in biomedical imaging. A patent application followed the research. Biology represents a major challenge for these “nano antennas,” however, since the cellular environment is complex compared with the controlled laboratory medium.

At the same time, Professor Meunier and his team are working on development of novel medical imaging techniques. For example, Professor Meunier has perfected a technique for detection of cell-surface biomarkers that is cost-efficient and comparatively an improvement over the classic immunofluorescence method: 3D multiplexed immunoplasmonics microscopy. It uses Abs-functionalized plasmonic nanoparticles (fNPs) as “headhunters” to target biomarkers, with reflected light microscopy (RLM) used to detect the biomarkers visually. The technique is compatible with existing imaging systems, which will facilitate its widespread use.

Taking the tech into the operating room

Professor Meunier is also working to make life easier for the people who work to save lives—medical staff working in cancer treatment, drug delivery, and nanosurgery—in a controlled manner. Examples include a tool developed in his lab using laser technology, dubbed the “light nanoscalpel.”

It is more than a mere tool; it is hoped that it will evolve into a formidable weapon for physicians. Professor Meunier has demonstrated that it is possible to make incisions in membranes of multiple cells simultaneously. The laser is aimed at functionalized plasmonic nanoparticles that concentrate its light to perforate the membrane.

Recently, Professor Meunier designed a procedure for optimized, controlled design (material, shape and size) of metallic nanoparticles to improve nanosurgery performance.

In 2012, his work was awarded second prize in a competition organized by Québec Science magazine, recognizing landmark discoveries made in Québec during the year.

Nanoparticules d'or et d'argent
Photo lauréate du concours La preuve par l'image (ACFAS, 2015)
(c) David Rioux

Génie Physique

Vous êtes ici

Michel Meunier

Nanotechnologie ● Théranostique ● Biomédical


Michel Meunier est professeur titulaire au département de Génie physique et responsable du Laboratoire de plasmonique et de procédés par laser.

Entre ses murs, son équipe s’affaire à créer de nouveaux nanomatériaux et outils biomédicaux, pour la théranostique. Le but : développer des nanoparticules utilisables à la fois pour le diagnostic (l’imagerie médicale et biocapteur) et la thérapie (chirurgie, traitements).
 

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielLinkedinTél. (514) 340-4711 poste  4971

Des nanoparticules au service de l’imagerie médicale 

L’équipe du prof. Meunier a développé une nouvelle approche pour synthétiser des nanomatériaux d’alliages or-argent, de composition et tailles finement contrôlées. Soutenues par la biocompatibilité de l’alliage, elles sont utilisées en imagerie biomédicale grâce à leurs propriétés optiques spéciales basées sur résonance plasmonique de surface. S’en est suivi un dépôt d’un brevet. Ici, la biologie représente tout un défi pour ces «nano antennes», l’environnement cellulaire étant complexe comparativement à un milieu contrôlé en laboratoire.

En complément, l’équipe du prof. Meunier travaille au développement de nouvelles techniques d’imagerie médicale. M. Meunier a entre autres mis au point une technique peu coûteuse et meilleure comparativement à l’immunofluorescence classique, pour la détection de biomarqueurs cellulaires : la microscopie immunoplasmonique multiplexe 3D. Ils y utilisent des nanoparticules comme têtes chercheuses (Abs-functionalized plasmonic NPs, fNPs) qui ciblent les biomarqueurs, couplées à une microscopie immunoplasmonique (reflected light microscopy, RLM)) afin de discriminer les marqueurs cellulaires. La technique peut être intégrée aux dispositifs d’imagerie existants afin de faciliter son déploiement.

Se rendre jusqu’aux salles d’opération

Le prof. Meunier travaille aussi à faciliter la vie à ceux qui la soignent : traitement du cancer, convoi de médicaments et nanochirurgie. Et ce, de façon contrôlée. Un exemple : une technologie laser mise au point dans son laboratoire est d’ailleurs appelée le «nanoscalpel de lumière».

En plus d’être un outil, c’est devenu l’espoir d’une formidable arme pour les médecins. Le prof. Meunier a démontré qu’il était possible de réaliser des incisions dans les membranes de plusieurs cellules, et ce, simultanément. Le laser est alors braqué sur des nanoparticules plasmoniques qui concentrent sa lumière, pour perforer la membrane.

Le prof. Meunier a récemment mis en place une procédure de design optimal et contrôlé (taille, élément, surface) de nanoparticules métalliques pour rendre performante la nanochirurgie.

En 2012, son travail a reçu le second prix lors du concours organisé par le magazine Québec science. Ce concours récompense les découvertes marquantes faites au Québec, durant l’année.

Nanoparticules d'or et d'argent
Photo lauréate du concours La preuve par l'image (ACFAS, 2015)
(c) David Rioux