Directory of Experts
Back to search results
Anne-Marie Boulay
M.Sc.A., Ph.D.Chemical Engineering

Research interests and affiliations

Research interests
  • Life Cycle Assessment
  • Impact assessment in LCA
  • Water Footprint
  • Environmental impacts of plastic litter
  • Marine impacts in LCA
Expertise type(s) (NSERC subjects)
  • 1007 Water resources and supply
  • 4503 Surface water
  • 4504 Groundwater
  • 4705 Ecotoxicology
  • 7003 Renewable and non-renewable resources management
  • 1500 ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING

Publications

Recent publications
Journal article
Karimpour, S., Boulay, A.-M. & Bulle, C. (2021). Evaluation of sector-specific AWARE characterization factors for water scarcity footprint of electricity generation. Science of the Total Environment, 753, 12 pages. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.142063
Journal article
Bjørn, A., Sim, S., Boulay, A.-M., King, H., Clavreul, J., Lam, W.Y., Barbarossa, V., Bulle, C. & Margni, M. (2020). A planetary boundary-based method for freshwater use in life cycle assessment: Development and application to a tomato production case study. Ecological Indicators, 110, 10 pages. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolind.2019.105865
Journal article
Boulay, A.-M., Benini, L. & Sala, S. (2020). Marginal and non-marginal approaches in characterization: how context and scale affect the selection of an adequate characterization model. The AWARE model example. International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment, 25(12), 2380-2392. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1007/s11367-019-01680-0
Journal article
Bjoern, A., Chandrakumar, C., Boulay, A.-M., Doka, G., Fang, K., Gondran, N., Hauschild, M.Z., Kerkhof, A., King, H., Margni, M., McLaren, S., Mueller, C., Owsianiak, M., Peters, G., Roos, S., Sala, S., Sandin, G., Sim, S., Vargas-Gonzalez, M. & Ryberg, M. (2020). Review of life-cycle based methods for absolute environmental sustainability assessment and their applications. Environmental Research Letters, 15(8), 23 pages. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1088/1748-9326/ab89d7

Biography

Anne-Marie Boulay graduated from Chemical Engineering at McGill University in 2006. After working as a consultant, she integrated CIRAIG’s team at École Polytechnique of Montreal and obtained her Ph.D. in 2013 on the assessment of water use impacts in LCA. It is for this work that she received the SETAC Europe Young Scientist Award in 2014. After more than 10 years on the topic of Life Cycle Impact Assessment, she has become an expert on water footprint, providing water footprint training for UNEP and ISO in developing countries around the world and she is the Canadian chair of ISO sub-committee on Life Cycle Assessment (TC207/SC5). She is now an Assistant Professor in Chemical Engineering at Polytechnique Montreal and CIRAIG. She is currently chairing the WULCA working group on water use in LCA of UN Environment, the LEAP working group of FAO on water footprint and the MARILCA working group (UN Environment and FSLCI) on marine impacts, specifically plastic litter, in LCA. These working groups are leading the international consensus building processes and the scientific work into achieving harmonized methods for assessing important impact pathways in LCA, involving key method developers and stakeholders through international collaborative efforts.

Education

  • B.Eng. McGill University
  • Master Chemical Engineering Polytechnique Montréal
  • Doctorat Chemical Engineering Polytechnique Montréal

Press review about Anne-Marie Boulay

April 21, 2021, Le Devoir, Pas de solution miracle pour remplacer le plastique Anne-Marie Boulay, membre du CIRAIG et professeure adjointe au Département de génie chimique de Polytechnique Montréal et Jean-François Ménard, analyste au CIRAIG, discutent du cycle de vie des sacs de plastique.

Répertoire des expertises
Retour aux résultats de recherche
Anne-Marie Boulay
M.Sc.A., Ph.D. Génie Chimique
Projet(s) de recherche pour étudiants

Intérêts de recherche et affiliations

Intérêts de recherche
  • Analyse du Cycle de vie
  • Évaluation des impacts en ACV
  • Empreinte Eau
  • Impacts des plastiques dans l’environnement
  • Impacts marins en ACV
Type(s) d'expertises (sujets CRSNG)
  • 1007 Ressources et approvisionnement en eau
  • 4503 Eau de surface
  • 4504 Eaux souterraines
  • 4705 Écotoxicologie
  • 7003 Gestion des ressources renouvelables et non renouvelables
  • 1500 GÉNIE DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT

Publications

Publications récentes
Article de revue
Karimpour, S., Boulay, A.-M. & Bulle, C. (2021). Evaluation of sector-specific AWARE characterization factors for water scarcity footprint of electricity generation. Science of the Total Environment, 753, 12 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1016/j.scitotenv.2020.142063
Article de revue
Bjørn, A., Sim, S., Boulay, A.-M., King, H., Clavreul, J., Lam, W.Y., Barbarossa, V., Bulle, C. & Margni, M. (2020). A planetary boundary-based method for freshwater use in life cycle assessment: Development and application to a tomato production case study. Ecological Indicators, 110, 10 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecolind.2019.105865
Article de revue
Boulay, A.-M., Benini, L. & Sala, S. (2020). Marginal and non-marginal approaches in characterization: how context and scale affect the selection of an adequate characterization model. The AWARE model example. International Journal of Life Cycle Assessment, 25(12), 2380-2392. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1007/s11367-019-01680-0
Article de revue
Bjoern, A., Chandrakumar, C., Boulay, A.-M., Doka, G., Fang, K., Gondran, N., Hauschild, M.Z., Kerkhof, A., King, H., Margni, M., McLaren, S., Mueller, C., Owsianiak, M., Peters, G., Roos, S., Sala, S., Sandin, G., Sim, S., Vargas-Gonzalez, M. & Ryberg, M. (2020). Review of life-cycle based methods for absolute environmental sustainability assessment and their applications. Environmental Research Letters, 15(8), 23 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1088/1748-9326/ab89d7

Biographie

Anne-Marie Boulay a reçu son diplôme en Génie Chimique de l'Université McGill en 2006. Après avoir travaillé comme consultante, elle a intégré l'équipe du CIRAIG à l'École Polytechnique de Montréal et a obtenu son doctorat en 2013 sur l'évaluation des impacts de l'utilisation de l'eau en ACV. C'est pour ce travail qu'elle a reçu le SETAC Europe Young Scientist Award en 2014. Après plus de 10 ans sur le thème de l'évaluation des impacts du cycle de vie, elle est devenue experte en empreinte eau, assurant une formation sur l'empreinte eau pour le PNUE et l'ISO dans des pays en développement du monde entier et elle est la présidente canadienne du sous-comité ISO sur l'analyse du cycle de vie (TC207 / SC5). Elle est maintenant professeure adjointe en génie chimique à la Polytechnique Montréal, au sein du CIRAIG. Elle préside actuellement le groupe de travail WULCA sur l'utilisation de l'eau en ACV de UN Environnement, le groupe de travail LEAP de la FAO sur l'empreinte hydrique et le groupe de travail MARILCA (UN Environnement et FSLCI) sur les impacts marins, en particulier les déchets plastiques, en ACV. Ces groupes de travail dirigent les processus de recherche d'un consensus international et les travaux scientifiques pour parvenir à des méthodes harmonisées pour évaluer les voies d'impact importantes en ACV, impliquant les développeurs de méthodes clés et les parties prenantes à travers des efforts de collaboration internationale.

Formation

  • B.Ing. Université McGill
  • Maitrise Génie Chimique Polytechnique Montréal
  • Doctorat Génie Chimique Polytechnique Montréal

Revue de presse concernant Anne-Marie Boulay

21 avril 2021, Le Devoir, Pas de solution miracle pour remplacer le plastique Anne-Marie Boulay, membre du CIRAIG et professeure adjointe au Département de génie chimique de Polytechnique Montréal et Jean-François Ménard, analyste au CIRAIG, discutent du cycle de vie des sacs de plastique.