Engineering Physics

You are here

Frédéric Leblond

Photonics ● Optics ● Clinical field ● Medical imaging

Frédéric Leblond is an associate professor in the Department of Engineering Physics, where he heads the Optical Radiology Laboratory.

 

He works mainly in biophotonics (including diffuse optical tomography), designing new surgical methods, enhancing medical imaging, and studying light propagation in biological tissues.

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielLinkedinTél. (514) 340-4711 extension 4740

Optics as the neurosurgeon’s ally

A major part of Professor Leblond’s work is in perfecting of powerful optical needle biopsy instruments. A prototype that relies on interstitial optical tomography can guide surgeons by detecting blood vessels during procedures. The primary goal is to improve safety and effectiveness when examining tumours in the brain. The better physicians can understand a tumour by collecting as superior sample, the greater the odds of successful treatment.

In further research in the service of patients, Professor Leblond made a major breakthrough, along with colleagues Dr. Kevin Petrecca and Dr. Marie-Christine Guiot of McGill University, providing surgical teams with a powerful cancer-cell detection method: a Raman spectroscopy probe that they can use in real time to better differentiate cancer cells from healthy cells. The malignant cells can then be properly removed, preventing the cancer from spreading to healthy regions of the brain.

Another technique developed in the Optical Radiology Laboratory is quantitative fluorescence guidance for surgeons, which relies on spectroscopic imaging corrected by means of fluorescent markers. This technique also gives surgeons certain information about a tumour they are operating on (such as its depth). The system is connected to a surgical microscope.

A further tool developed by Professor Leblond for eventual use in operating rooms is a hyperspectral imaging system for assessment of brain hemodynamic. Connected to a surgical microscope, it enables locating of epileptic foci, among other things

From the lab to the operating theatre
Collaboration with oncologists is now a reality. Professor Leblond’s instruments are being tested in hospital settings, thanks in part to an industry partnership.

Lastly, in collaboration with another department professor, Thomas Gervais, Professor Leblond is also working on lab-on-a-chip devices for in-vitro study of anti-tumour drug efficacy, in the hope that they can be brought into widespread use. These devices will also make it possible to test a treatment before its commercialization and predict patient responses (another step on the road to personalized medicine).

Entrepreneurial fibre

Frédéric Leblond is the co-founder and Technical Director of ODS Medical Inc., which is tasked with commercialization of his Raman-spectroscopy-based cancer-cell detection device. He is currently working with a number of industrial partners on development of several medical imaging techniques, probes, and software. He also holds several patents. As his work also involves human subjects and is greatly useful to medical personnel, he has collaborative projects with many hospitals across North America.

Génie Physique

Vous êtes ici

Frédéric Leblond

Photonique ● Optique ● Clinique ● Imagerie médicale


Frédéric Leblond est professeur associé au département de génie physique, où il est responsable du laboratoire de radiologie optique.

Principalement, il travaille en biophotonique (dont la tomographie optique diffuse) pour concevoir de nouvelles méthodes de chirurgie, améliorer l’imagerie médicale et étudier la propagation de la lumière dans les tissus biologiques.
 

Site internetFiche d'expertiseGoogle ScholarCourrielLinkedinTél. (514) 340-4711 poste 4740

Quand l’optique devient un allié pour le neurochirurgien

Les travaux du prof. Leblond débutent par la mise au point de puissants instruments de biopsie à aiguille optique. À l’aide de la tomographie optique interstitielle, il propose dans son prototype de guider la procédure chirurgicale en détectant la présence de vaisseaux sanguins.  But premier : améliorer l’innocuité et l’efficacité lors d’examens de tumeurs dans le cerveau. Mieux on connaît une tumeur en prélevant un bon échantillon, mieux on saura la combattre.

Toujours au service des patients, il a réalisé une percée majeure avec ses collaborateurs les Dr. K. Petrecca et Dr. M-C. Guiot (Université McGill) en offrant aux chirurgiens un détecteur puissant de cellules cancéreuses. Utilisable en temps réel, la sonde fut créée selon la spectroscopie Raman. Elle permet à l’équipe de mieux discriminer (comparativement à ce qui existe) les cellules cancéreuses des cellules saines. Et ce, afin de les retirer adéquatement, pour éviter une propagation du cancer aux parties saines du cerveau.

Autre technique mise au point dans son laboratoire : un guide fluorescent et quantitatif pour les chirurgiens, basé sur l'imagerie spectroscopique (corrigée par atténuation des marqueurs fluorescents). Cette technique permet aussi au chirurgien d’obtenir des informations sur la tumeur qu’il opère (comme évaluer sa profondeur). Ce système est couplé à un microscope chirurgical.

Toujours dans l’optique d’une utilisation dans le bloc opératoire, le prof. Leblond a mis au point un système d’imagerie hyper spectral pour étudier la dynamique vasculaire dans le cerveau. Couplé à un microscope chirurgical, il permet notamment de localiser des foyers épileptiques.
 

Du laboratoire aux salles d’opération
La collaboration avec les oncologues est devenue une réalité. Les instruments du prof. Leblond sont maintenant testés en milieu hospitalier avec notamment un partenariat  industriel.

Enfin, avec un autre professeur du département, Thomas Gervais, prof. Leblond travaille aussi sur des puces permettant d’étudier in vitro l’effet de médicaments antitumoraux. Le défi : rendre possible leur utilisation à grande échelle. Elles permettront ainsi de tester un traitement avant sa commercialisation ou prédire la réponse d’un patient (vers la médecine personnalisée).

La fibre entrepreneuriale

Frédéric Leblond est cofondateur et directeur de la technologie chez ODS Medical Inc., chargée de commercialiser son dispositif de détection de cellules cancéreuses (par spectroscopie Raman). Il travaille actuellement avec plusieurs partenaires industriels pour le développement de plusieurs techniques d’imagerie médicale, sondes et logiciels. Il est par ailleurs titulaire de plusieurs brevets. Ses travaux impliquant aussi des sujets humains et étant d’une grande aide pour le personnel médical, il collabore avec de nombreux centres hospitaliers en Amérique du Nord.