Directory of Experts
Back to search results
Étienne Martin
B.Sc. (ÉTS), Ph,D. (McGill), Post-Doc. (McGill)
Expert

Phone: (514) 340-4711 Ext. 4771 Fax: (514) 340-5170 Room: A-475
Primary sphere of excellence in research
Innovative Materials
Secondary sphere(s) of excellence in research
Sustainable Transport and Infrastructures Energy, Water and, Resources
ResearchGate Google Scholar
Student research project(s)

Research interests and affiliations

Research interests
  • Additive manufacturing
  • Powder metallurgy
  • Materials characterization and testing
  • Materials processing
  • Physical metallurgy
  • Alloys design

Publications

Recent publications

Biography

Étienne Martin is an industrial chairholder in Powder Metallurgy and Additive Manufacturing at Polytechnique Montréal. He joined the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering at the University of Waterloo in 2018 as an Assistant Professor. Two years later, he joined Polytechnique Montréal where he was promoted to the rank of Associate Professor.

Étienne obtained a PhD in Metallurgical Engineering from McGill University (2010) under the supervision of Emeritus Professor, John J. Jonas. He then spent 10 years in the private sector, working for prominent manufacturing companies like General Motors, SNC Lavalin, Arcelor Mittal and General Electric. During his industrial career, Étienne contributed to the development of new alloys for the most demanding components in aero and land-based gas turbine applications, as well as new parts introduction fabricated by additive manufacturing for GE Additives.

Étienne’s research uses experiments, analytical theory and computer simulations to explore the processing-structure-property relationships in structural metallics. His research interests include the mechanical properties and environmental performance of materials, alloy design, advanced materials processing and characterization. Recent work has focused on new technologies to improve processing for powder materials, improve fatigue and creep in metals through conventional forging and Additive Manufacturing, on alloy design for transportation and energy applications and development of models for Integrated Computational Materials Engineering efforts.

Teaching

  • MTR6010 – Structure and properties of materials

Education

News about Étienne Martin

NEWS | September 23, 2022
Research projects of seven Polytechnique Montréal faculty members backed by the CFI and the Québec government | Read

Répertoire des expertises
Retour aux résultats de recherche
Étienne Martin
B.Sc. (ÉTS), Ph,D. (McGill), Post-Doc. (McGill)
Expert
Professeur agrégé
Département de génie mécanique

Tél. : (514) 340-4711 poste 4771 Téléc. : (514) 340-5170 Local : A-475
Pôle d'excellence principal
Matériaux innovants
ResearchGate Google Scholar
Projet(s) de recherche pour étudiants

Intérêts de recherche et affiliations

Intérêts de recherche
  • Fabrication additive
  • Métallurgie des poudres
  • Caractérisation et essais des matériaux
  • Traitement des matériaux
  • Métallurgie physique
  • Conception d'alliages

Publications

Publications récentes

Biographie

Étienne Martin est titulaire d'une chaire industrielle en métallurgie des poudres et fabrication additive à Polytechnique Montréal. Il s'est joint au Département de génie mécanique et mécatronique de l'Université de Waterloo en 2018 en tant que professeur adjoint. Deux ans plus tard, il s'est joint à Polytechnique Montréal où il a été promu au rang de professeur agrégé.

Étienne a obtenu un doctorat en génie métallurgique de l'Université McGill (2010) sous la direction du professeur émérite John J. Jonas. Il a ensuite passé 10 ans dans le secteur privé, travaillant pour d'importantes entreprises manufacturières comme General Motors, SNC Lavalin, Arcelor Mittal et General Electric. Au cours de sa carrière industrielle, Étienne a contribué au développement de nouveaux alliages pour les composants les plus exigeants dans les applications de turbines à gaz aéronautiques et terrestres, ainsi qu'à l'introduction de nouvelles pièces produites par fabrication additive pour GE Additives.

La recherche d’Étienne utilise l’expérimentation, la théorie analytique et les simulations informatiques pour explorer les relations traitement-structure-propriété dans la métallurgie structurale. Ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les propriétés mécaniques et les performances environnementales des matériaux, la conception d'alliages, le traitement et la caractérisation avancés des matériaux. Des travaux récents se sont concentrés sur les nouvelles technologies pour améliorer le traitement des matériaux en poudre, améliorer la fatigue et le fluage dans les métaux grâce au forgeage conventionnel et à la fabrication additive, sur la conception d'alliages pour les applications de transport et d'énergie et le développement de modèles pour les efforts d'ingénierie informatique intégrée.

Enseignement

  • MTR6010 – Structure et propriétés des matériaux

Formation

Nouvelle(s) concernant Étienne Martin

MAGAZINE POLY | 5 décembre 2023
Chaire philanthropique en génie des matériaux : l’effet durable d’un don visionnaire sur l’innovation | Lire
NOUVELLES | 23 septembre 2022
Les projets de recherche de sept membres du corps professoral de Polytechnique Montréal appuyés par la FCI et le gouvernement du Québec | Lire