Directory of Experts
Back to search results

Research interests and affiliations

Research interests

Next Generation Networks (5G and beyond), Edge Computinga and Edge Intelligene/Network Intelligence,  Communication Networks for Verticals such as Connected and Autonomous Cars,  IoT,  Smartgrid,  and Industrial IoT.

Expertise type(s) (NSERC subjects)
  • 2521 Mobile and personal communication
  • 2508 Communications networks
  • 2507 Communications systems
  • 2525 Wireless communication systems
  • 2704 Distributed and parallel processing
  • 2721 Multimedia systems and networks

Publications

Recent publications
Journal article
Mlika, Z. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Massive IoT Access with NOMA in 5G Networks and Beyond using Online Competitiveness and Learning. IEEE Internet of Things Journal, 15 pages. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1109/JIOT.2021.3068061
Journal article
Mlika, Z. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Network Slicing with MEC and Deep Reinforcement Learning for the Internet of Vehicles. IEEE Network, 7 pages. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1109/MNET.011.2000591
Journal article
Moudoud, H., Khoukhi, L. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Prediction and Detection of FDIA and DDoS Attacks in 5G Enabled IoT. IEEE Network, 35(2), 194-201. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.1109/MNET.011.2000449

Biography

Pr. Soumaya Cherkaoui's  research and teaching interests are in wireless networks. Particularly, she works on  next generation networks (5G and beyond), Edge computing/Network Intelligence, and communication networks for verticals such as Connected and Autonomous Cars,  IoT, and  Industrial IoT. She leads a research group which conducts research funded both by government and industry. Before joining academia as a professor in 1999, she worked for industry as a project leader on projects targeted at the Aerospace Industry. Pr. Cherkaoui has held invited positions at leading institutions including the  University of California at Berkeley. Bell Laboratories, Monash University, and the University of Toronto, as well as an adjunct position at Lulea University, in Sweden.

In 2010, she was appointed member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Network of Centres of Excellence Auto21, Canada. Since 2017, she has been serving as member of MITACS Research Council. Pr. Cherkaoui avails of a long research experience in the wireless networking. She was named Distinguished Lecturer by the IEEE Communication Society. Her work resulted in technology transfer to companies and to patented technology.  Pr. Cherkaoui has published over 200 research papers in reputed journals and conferences. She co-edited 7 collective works, has been an associate editor and guest editor of several IEEE, IET, Wiley and Elsevier Journals. She is currently on the editorial board of IEEE Network, the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in CommunicationsIEEE SystemsElsevier Vehicular Communications, and IET Quantum Communication. Her work was awarded with recognitions and best paper awards including a best paper award at the IEEE Communications Society Flagship conference IEEE ICC in 2017. She has chaired prestigious conferences such as IEEE LCN 2019, and has served as a symposium co-chair for flagship conferences including IEEE ICC 2021,  IEEE ICC 2018IEEE Globecom 2018IEEE Globecom 2015IEEE ICC 2014, and IEEE PIMRC 2011. She is a Professional Engineer in Canada, a senior IEEE Member, and is serving as the Chair of the IEEE Communications Society IoT-Ad hoc and Sensor Networks Technical Committee since 2020.

Répertoire des expertises
Retour aux résultats de recherche

Intérêts de recherche et affiliations

Intérêts de recherche

Réseaux de nouvelle génération (5G et au-delà), le traietement et l'intelligence à la périphérie du réseau/ l’intelligence réseau,  les réseaux de communication pour des secteurs verticaux tels que les voitures connectées et autonomes, le réseau électrique intelligent, l'IoT, et  l'IoT industriel.

Type(s) d'expertises (sujets CRSNG)
  • 2521 Télécommunications mobiles et personnelles
  • 2508 Réseaux de télécommunications
  • 2507 Systèmes de télécommunications
  • 2525 Systèmes de télécommunications sans fil
  • 2704 Traitement réparti et simultané
  • 2721 Systèmes et réseaux multimédias

Publications

Publications récentes
Article de revue
Mlika, Z. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Massive IoT Access with NOMA in 5G Networks and Beyond using Online Competitiveness and Learning. IEEE Internet of Things Journal, 15 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1109/JIOT.2021.3068061
Article de revue
Mlika, Z. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Network Slicing with MEC and Deep Reinforcement Learning for the Internet of Vehicles. IEEE Network, 7 pages. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1109/MNET.011.2000591
Article de revue
Moudoud, H., Khoukhi, L. & Cherkaoui, S. (2021). Prediction and Detection of FDIA and DDoS Attacks in 5G Enabled IoT. IEEE Network, 35(2), 194-201. Tiré de https://doi.org/10.1109/MNET.011.2000449

Biographie

Les intérêts de recherche et d'enseignement de  Pre. Soumaya Cherkaoui portent sur les réseaux sans fil. En particulier, elle travaille sur les réseaux de nouvelle génération (5G et au-delà), le traietement à la périphérie du réseau/ l’intelligence réseau et les réseaux de communication pour des secteurs verticaux tels que les voitures connectées et autonomes, l'IoT et l'IoT industriel. Elle dirige un groupe de recherche qui mène des recherches financées par le gouvernement et l'industrie. Avant de joindre le domaine académique comme professeure en 1999,  elle a travaillé en industrie en tant que chef de projet dans le domaine aérospatial. Pr. Cherkaoui a occupé des positions invitées dans des institutions, notamment l'Université de Californie à Berkeley, les Laboratoires Bell, l'Université Monash et l'Université de Toronto, ainsi qu'un poste de professeure associé à l'Université Lulea, en Suède.

En 2010, elle a été nommée membre du conseil d'administration du Réseau canadien des centres d'excellence Auto21, Canada. Depuis 2017, elle est membre du Conseil de Recherche de MITACS.

Pr. Cherkaoui possède d'une longue expérience de recherche dans le domaine des réseaux sans fil. Elle a été nommée conférencière émérite par la IEEE Communication Society. Son travail a abouti à des transferts technologiques vers l’industrie des ainsi qu’à des technologies brevetées. Pr. Cherkaoui a publié plus de 200 articles de recherche dans des revues et des conférences réputées. Elle a été éditrice associée et éditrice invitée de plusieurs revues IEEE, Wiley et Elsevier. Elle est actuellement membre du comité éditorial de IEEE Network,  IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in CommunicationsIEEE SystemsElsevier Vehicular Communications, et IET Quantum Communication. Son travail a été récompensé par des distinctions et des prix du meilleur article, y compris un prix du meilleur article à la conférence phare de l'IEEE Communications Society IEEE ICC en 2017. Elle a présidé des conférences prestigieuses telles que l'IEEE LCN 2019, et a été coprésidente de symposiums pour des conférences de renommée telles que IEEE ICC 2021,  IEEE ICC 2018IEEE Globecom 2018IEEE Globecom 2015IEEE ICC 2014, et IEEE PIMRC 2011. Elle est ingénieure au Québec, Canada, membre senior de l'IEEE, et présidente du comité technique IEEE Communications Society IoT-Ad hoc and Sensor Networks Technical Committee depuis 2020.