Directory of Experts
Back to search results
Fabian Denner
Dipl.-Ing. (Univ. Stuttgart), Ph.D. (Imperial College London)

Phone: (514) 340-4711 Ext. 3292 Fax: (514) 340-5170 Room: J-5033
Primary sphere of excellence in research
Modeling and Artificial Intelligence
Secondary sphere(s) of excellence in research
Energy, Water and, Resources Innovative Materials
Twitter LinkedIn ResearchGate Google Scholar
Student research project(s)

Research interests and affiliations

Research interests

My research interests revolve around the modelling of multiphase flows and related physical phenomena:

  1. Multiphase flows: application of state-of-the-art numerical methods and software tools to analyze and predict gas-liquid (bubble, droplets, liquid jets) and particle-laden flows.

  2. Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD): development of numerical methods for CFD of incompressible and compressible single-phase and multiphase flows.

  3. High-performance computing (HPC): development of software tools for the modelling of fluid flows and related physical phenomena on high-performance computing (HPC) architectures.

 

CFD and multiphase flow modelling

My work on CFD has been focusing for well over a decade on new and innovative numerical methods for the modelling of single-phase and multiphase flows at all speeds, ranging from incompressible to supersonic flows, including gas-liquid and particle-laden flows. The numerical frameworks I’ve been (co-)developing are designed for high-performance computing (HPC) systems.

Cavitation

The violent collapse of cavitation bubbles is known to erode surfaces, but cavitation bubbles can also enable chemical reactions (sonochemistry) and medical treatments. Yet predicting cavitation accurately and reliably is very challenging, as it involves rapidly evolving hydrodynamics paired with delicate acoustics, pushing the currently available numerical methods and software tools to their limits and beyond. This is why cavitation has become a central research topic in my group, as we can combine the development of new numerical methods with exciting applications in the fields of medicine, chemical and mechanical engineering.

Acoustics

Isolating and distinguishing the physical mechanisms modulating acoustic waves in moving and accelerating flows are important for noise control and to gain a more detailed understanding and precise interpretation of the information encoded in acoustic signals, for instance for acoustic remote sensing applications or to monitor and control medical ultrasound treatments. To this end, we develop and utilize tailored numerical methods and model systems that enable the study of complex acoustic phenomena, such as amplitude modulations of acoustic waves in accelerating flows.

Liquid jet breakup and atomization

The breakup of liquid jets into sprays and individual droplets is a phenomenon utilized in countless engineering applications, including fuel injection in aeroengines, inkjet and 3D printing, and irrigation of agricultural crops and fields. Despite its widespread application, many aspects of liquid jet breakup, such as the entrainment of nano-/microscopic particles or specific viscoelastic effects, are still not comprehensively understood, a gap that we aim to fill with state-of-the-art numerical tools.

Particle-laden flows

Particle-laden flows are intriguing due to their ubiquity in natural phenomena and industrial processes, playing important roles in fields such as aerosol science, particle technology, and material processing. We develop tailored mathematical models and numerical methods for the complex interaction between flows and particles, as well as for the processing of powders.

Expertise type(s) (NSERC subjects)
  • 1808 Rheology and processing
  • 2200 FLUID MECHANICS
  • 2202 Multi-phase systems
  • 2203 Modelling, simulation
  • 2953 Wave propagation
  • 2955 Numerical analysis
  • 3109 Acoustics

Publications

Featured

Biography

Fabian graduated from the University of Stuttgart (Germany) in 2009 with a diploma (Dipl.-Ing.) in Automotive Engineering, which he completed with a thesis at the Laboratory of Thermodynamics in Emerging Technologies at ETH Zurich (Switzerland). During his undergraduate studies, he also worked for Alstom, Porsche and the German Aerospace Center (DLR). Fabian then moved to Imperial College London (UK), where he completed his PhD in Mechanical Engineering in 2013. His PhD thesis entitled “Balanced-force Two-Phase Flow Modeling on Unstructured and Adaptive Meshes” was awarded the Margaret Fishenden Centenary Memorial Prize 2015 for the best PhD thesis in the previous 5-year period at the Department of Mechanical Engineering. This was followed by a postdoctoral position, also at Imperial College London. In 2015, Fabian secured a prestigious research fellowship from the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) in the UK, with which he continued his research on two-phase flows with surface tension and the corresponding numerical methods for another 3 years at Imperial College London. In 2018, Fabian was appointed Junior Professor of Multiphase Flow Modelling at the Faculty of Process and Systems Engineering of Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg (Germany). During his time in Magdeburg, Fabian and his group contributed to significant advancements in numerical methods and algorithms to study incompressible and compressible multiphase flows, understanding and utilizing cavitation phenomena, the breakup of inkjets and the atomization of sprays, and nonlinear acoustics. In April 2023, Fabian joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering of Polytechnique Montréal as an Associate Professor.

Répertoire des expertises
Retour aux résultats de recherche
Fabian Denner
Dipl.-Ing. (Univ. Stuttgart), Ph.D. (Imperial College London)
Professeur agrégé
Département de génie mécanique

Tél. : (514) 340-4711 poste 3292 Téléc. : (514) 340-5170 Local : J-5033
Twitter LinkedIn ResearchGate Google Scholar

Intérêts de recherche et affiliations

Intérêts de recherche

Mes recherches portent sur la modélisation des écoulements polyphasiques et des phénomènes physiques connexes :

  1. Dynamique des fluides numérique (CFD) : développement de méthodes numériques pour la CFD d'écoulements incompressibles et compressibles à une ou plusieurs phases.
  2. Écoulements polyphasiques : application de méthodes numériques et d'outils logiciels de pointe pour analyser et prévoir les écoulements gaz-liquide (bulles, gouttelettes, jets de liquide) et les écoulements chargés de particules.
  3. Calcul à haute performance (HPC) : développement d'outils logiciels pour la modélisation des écoulements de fluides et des phénomènes physiques connexes sur des architectures de calcul à haute performance (HPC).

 

CFD et modélisation des écoulements polyphasiques

Mes travaux sur la CFD se concentrent depuis plus d'une décennie sur des méthodes nouvelles et innovantes de volumes finis pour la modélisation des écoulements monophasiques et polyphasiques à toutes les vitesses, allant des écoulements incompressibles aux écoulements supersoniques, y compris les écoulements gaz-liquide et les écoulements chargés de particules. Les cadres numériques que j'ai (co)développés sont conçus pour les systèmes informatiques à haute performance (HPC).

Cavitation

L'effondrement violent des bulles de cavitation est connu pour éroder les surfaces, mais les bulles de cavitation peuvent également permettre des réactions chimiques (sonochimie) et des traitements médicaux. Pourtant, prédire la cavitation de manière précise et fiable est un véritable défi, car elle implique une hydrodynamique en évolution rapide associée à une acoustique délicate, ce qui pousse les méthodes numériques et les outils logiciels actuellement disponibles à leurs limites, voire au-delà. C'est pourquoi la cavitation est devenue un sujet de recherche central dans mon groupe, car nous pouvons combiner le développement de nouvelles méthodes numériques avec des applications passionnantes dans les domaines de la médecine, de l'ingénierie chimique et mécanique.

L'acoustique

Il est important d'isoler et de distinguer les mécanismes physiques qui modulent les ondes acoustiques dans les flux en mouvement et en accélération pour contrôler le bruit et pour obtenir une compréhension plus détaillée et une interprétation plus précise des informations encodées dans les signaux acoustiques, par exemple pour les applications de télédétection acoustique ou pour surveiller et contrôler les traitements médicaux par ultrasons. À cette fin, nous développons et utilisons des méthodes numériques et des systèmes de modélisation adaptés qui permettent d'étudier des phénomènes acoustiques complexes, tels que les modulations d'amplitude des ondes acoustiques dans les écoulements accélérés.

Rupture et atomisation des jets liquides

La fragmentation des jets de liquide en pulvérisations et en gouttelettes individuelles est un phénomène utilisé dans d'innombrables applications techniques, notamment l'injection de carburant dans les moteurs aéronautiques, l'impression à jet d'encre et l'impression 3D, ainsi que l'irrigation des cultures et des champs agricoles. Malgré son application généralisée, de nombreux aspects de la décomposition des jets liquides, tels que l'entraînement de particules nanométriques/microscopiques ou les effets viscoélastiques spécifiques, ne sont toujours pas compris de manière exhaustive, une lacune que nous souhaitons combler à l'aide d'outils numériques de pointe.

Type(s) d'expertises (sujets CRSNG)
  • 1808 Rhéologie et transformation
  • 2200 MÉCANIQUE DES FLUIDES
  • 2202 Systèmes polyphasiques
  • 2203 Modélisation et simulation
  • 2953 Propagation des ondes
  • 2955 Analyse numérique
  • 3109 Acoustique

Publications

En vedette

Biographie

Fabian a obtenu un diplôme (Dipl.-Ing.) en ingénierie automobile à l'université de Stuttgart (Allemagne) en 2009, qu'il a complété par une thèse au Laboratoire de thermodynamique dans les technologies émergentes de l'ETH Zurich (Suisse). Pendant ses études de premier cycle, il a également travaillé pour Alstom, Porsche et le Centre aérospatial allemand (DLR). Fabian a ensuite rejoint l'Imperial College de Londres (Royaume-Uni), où il a obtenu son doctorat en génie mécanique en 2013. Sa thèse de doctorat intitulée "Balanced-force Two-Phase Flow Modeling on Unstructured and Adaptive Meshes" a été récompensée par le Margaret Fishenden Centenary Memorial Prize 2015 pour la meilleure thèse de doctorat au cours des cinq années précédentes au département de génie mécanique. Il a ensuite obtenu un poste de postdoctorant, également à l'Imperial College de Londres. En 2015, Fabian a obtenu une prestigieuse bourse de recherche de l'Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) au Royaume-Uni, grâce à laquelle il a poursuivi ses recherches sur les écoulements diphasiques avec tension superficielle et les méthodes numériques correspondantes pendant trois années supplémentaires à l'Imperial College de Londres. En 2018, Fabian a été nommé professeur junior en modélisation des écoulements polyphasiques à la faculté d'ingénierie des procédés et des systèmes de l'université Otto-von-Guericke de Magdebourg (Allemagne). Pendant son séjour à Magdebourg, Fabian et son groupe ont contribué à des avancées significatives dans les méthodes numériques et les algorithmes pour étudier les écoulements polyphasiques incompressibles et compressibles, la compréhension et l'utilisation des phénomènes de cavitation, la rupture des jets d'encre et l'atomisation des sprays, ainsi que l'acoustique non linéaire. En avril 2023, Fabian rejoint le département de génie mécanique de Polytechnique Montréal en tant que professeur agrégé.