Carrefour de l'actualité

Pierre G. Lafleur appointed to the Canadian Academy of Engineering

August 13, 2014 - Source : NEWS

Pierre G. Lafleur, professor and Dean of Academic and International Affairs at Polytechnique Montréal, is one of 49 new Fellows inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering on June 26 at the CAE's 2014 Annual General Meeting and Symposium.

Professor Lafleur holds a BScA and MScA in chemical engineering from Polytechnique, as well as a PhD from McGill University, also in chemical engineering. His expertise in the field of polymer processing is widely recognized both nationally and internationally. He recently published a reference work in the field, titled Extrusion des polymers (Polymer extrusion), with Hermes Science. Over the years, Professor Lafleur has received numerous awards and is a member of many professional associations, including the Chemical Institute of Canada, the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering, the Society of Rheology and the Polymer Processing Society.

Last row (standing), left to right: Peter G. Noble, Ray Gosine, Baining Guo, Jim Beckett, Argyrios Margaritis, Claude Laguë, Ding-Yu Peng, Douglas A. Buchanan, Brian Garrod, Paul Acchione, Gilbert Bennett, Chris Huskilson, Yu Sun, Janusz A. Kozinski, Shen-En Qian.

First row (seated), left to right: Sri Krishnan, Kevin Englehart, Clément Fortin, Ross Peters, Heather Sheardown, Nancy E. Hill, Dimitry Sediako, Edward McBean, Xiaotao T. Bi, Pierre G. Lafleur.

The CAE is made up of many of the country's most accomplished engineers, who have shown their dedication to the application of scientific and engineering principles in the interest of the country and its businesses. The Academy is an independent, self-governing non-profit organization established in 1987 to serve the nation in matters of engineering concern.

Fellows of the Academy are nominated and elected by their peers, in view of their distinguished achievements and career-long service to the engineering profession. Fellows work closely with the other national engineering associations in Canada, and with the other Canadian academies that comprise the Council of Canadian Academies.

Our heartiest congratulations to Professor Lafleur!

Congratulations also to Professor Clément Fortin, former professor (1987–2005) and Director of Polytechnique's Department of Mechanical Engineering (2005–2011), who was also inducted as a Fellow of the CAE.

See also:
Professor Lafleur's expertise
Canadian Academy of Engineering  website

Photo: Canadian Academy of Engineering


Suggested Reading

June 16, 2020

A banner year for Polytechnique Montréal, as three professors named fellows in the Canadian Academy of Engineering

June 19, 2015

Polytechnique professors honoured by the Canadian Academy of Engineering