Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Medical Nanorobotics

Contact Information

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

Even though most cancers are specific to a certain area of the body, they are still treated by injecting highly toxic drugs that can affect a person's entire system, including healthy organs and tissues. Meanwhile, only a small fraction of the drug typically reaches the affected region.

A better approach would treat the cancer more effectively without harming other parts of the body. For this to happen, drugs would need to be able to travel through blood vessels using the most direct route from the injection site to the treatment area. Dr. Sylvain Martel, Canada Research Chair in Medical Nanorobotics, aims to develop new medical platforms, maneuverable drugs and other treatments that will make this possible.

Martel is combining nanotechnology (the manipulation of matter on an atomic, molecular, and supramolecular scale) and principles of robotics to develop treatment methods that can deliver drugs more deeply and directly to solid tumors and hard-to-treat areas.

To accomplish this, Martel and his research team are working on several approaches. One is the use of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to develop complementary ways of delivering drugs to blood vessels. Another uses special computer-controlled flagellated bacteria (bacteria that have lash-like appendages to propel themselves). Carrying treatments, these micro-organisms can be guided towards solid tumors using specially developed platforms that harness their behaviors and onboard sensors to force them to deliver their cargo to the affected areas.

Combining sciences and medicine, Martel's advanced engineering concepts aim at providing the next generation of Canadians with cutting-edge cancer treatments.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en nanorobotique médicale

Coordonnées

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

Même si la plupart des cancers attaquent une zone bien précise du corps, on les traite en injectant des médicaments très toxiques qui peuvent affecter l'ensemble du corps d'une personne, y compris certains organes et tissus sains. Pendant ce temps, seule une petite portion du médicament injecté atteint la zone affectée.

Une meilleure approche consisterait à traiter le cancer de façon plus efficace sans nuire à d'autres parties du corps. Pour ce faire, il faudrait que les médicaments puissent se déplacer dans les vaisseaux sanguins en empruntant le chemin le plus direct entre le site de l'injection et la zone du corps à traiter. Pour y arriver, Sylvain Martel, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en nanorobotique médicale, veut mettre au point de nouvelles plateformes médicales, des médicaments navigables et d'autres traitements.

M. Martel combine la nanotechnologie (la manipulation de la matière à une échelle atomique, moléculaire et supramoléculaire) et des principes de la robotique pour élaborer des méthodes de traitement qui peuvent administrer des médicaments directement aux tumeurs et aux parties du corps difficiles à traiter.

Pour réaliser cela, M. Martel et son équipe de chercheurs travaillent sur différentes approches. L'une d'entre elles consiste à utiliser l'imagerie par résonnance magnétique (IRM) pour mettre au point de nouvelles façons de distribuer des médicaments dans les vaisseaux sanguins. Une autre approche utilise des bactéries flagellées (bactéries munies d'un filament qui leur permet de se déplacer) contrôlées par un système informatique. Ces microorganismes, qui transportent le traitement, peuvent être guidés vers des tumeurs solides à l'aide de plateformes spécialement créées qui exploitent leurs comportements et leurs capteurs pour les forcer à acheminer leur cargaison aux zones affectées.

En combinant science et médecine, les concepts avancés d'ingénierie de M. Martel visent à offrir à la prochaine génération de Canadiens des traitements de pointe contre le cancer.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions