Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in the creation, development and the commercialization of innovation

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

In today's world, innovation is key to gaining a competitive advantage in business. But Canada's international ranking in innovation has been slipping year after year—from 15th in 2011 to 25th in 2013. Canada is falling behind other countries in terms of its investment in research and development (R&D), its university–private sector R&D partnerships, and its patents.

As Canada Research Chair in Creation, Development and the Commercialization of Innovation, Dr. Catherine Beaudry will examine current partnerships between university researchers and both private sector and governmental organizations. She aims in her research to take a global look at innovation, following the innovation process from concept to commercialization to demystify it.

Beaudry and her team will look at these partnerships from three interrelated angles: proximity, openness and the impact of the resulting research, focusing primarily on geographical proximity in national and international innovation partnerships. Beaudry will also examine how the openness of the businesses and organizations involved in these partnerships affects the research and the role governments and universities play.

By combining these different approaches, Beaudry's work could point to possible solutions that will help Canada close the innovation gap in the years ahead.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en création, développement et commercialisation de l'innovation

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

L'innovation est aujourd'hui reconnue comme élément clé de l'avantage compétitif des entreprises. Il est inquiétant de constater que la position du Canada se détériore d'année en année, passant du 15e rang en 2011, au 25e rang en 2013. Le Canada perd du terrain en ce qui a trait à l'investissement industriel en recherche et développement (R-D), à la collaboration université-entreprise au niveau de la R-D, et au nombre de brevets.

Dans le cadre de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en création, développement et commercialisation de l'innovation, Catherine Beaudry se penchera sur les partenariats, les réseaux et la collaboration entre les chercheurs universitaires, les entreprises et les organisations gouvernementales. Les travaux de la chaire visent à considérer l'innovation dans son ensemble, de l'idée à sa commercialisation et à démystifier le processus d'innovation.

Mme Beaudry et son équipe étudieront le processus collaboratif d'innovation sous trois angles interreliés : la proximité, l'ouverture et l'impact de la recherche. Ils porteront une attention particulière à la proximité géographique, sociale, cognitive et organisationnelle des collaborations et des partenariats d'innovation nationaux et internationaux. Son équipe étudiera aussi comment l'ouverture des entreprises et organismes travaillant en partenariat affecte la recherche ainsi que le rôle joué par les gouvernements et universités.

Par une combinaison de différentes approches, les recherches de Mme Beaudry permettront de proposer des avenues de solutions pour combler le retard du Canada en matière d'innovation dans les années à venir.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions