Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Medical Imaging and Assisted Interventions

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

The Canada Research Chair in Medical Imaging and Assisted Interventions uses medical imaging technologies and computer algorithms to better assist doctors and physicians in treating their patients. The research carried out by the Chair is aimed at developing new personalized image-guided therapies to diagnose and treat neurological disorders and diseases like liver cancer.
Personalized image-guided therapies are playing an increasingly critical role in managing patients diagnosed with neurological disorders and diseases such as liver cancer. Image-guided interventions, for example, can integrate high definition diagnostic imaging with real-time ultrasound to facilitate the targeting of specific tissues or targets.
Personalized therapies also play a key role in the creation of virtual patient-specific models, new drug discoveries and the optimization of tailored therapies by using complementary forms of imaging modalities that would not otherwise be available during minimally invasive image-guided procedures.
Prof. Samuel Kadoury, Canada Research Chair in Medical Imaging and Assisted Interventions, is exploring the development of pioneering technologies that will provide personalized diagnosis and treatment tailored to individual patient needs. His work focuses on the development of new processing algorithms in biomedical engineering and medical image computing to better understand the space and time development of organs and diseases.
Prof. Kadoury is aiming to develop accurate ways to conduct image-guided interventions that will explore the "preparation phase" of a procedure by using road-mapping from a series of images. He is also investigating new instrument tracking technologies that will ease the workflows of interventional radiologists and surgeons. As well, he is developing non-invasive approaches to monitor therapy delivery.
Prof. Kadoury's research will lead to new, personalized image-guided therapies to improve patient safety, potentially reduce the risk of complications, and help stem rising health-care costs.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en interventions assistées et en imagerie médicale

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

La Chaire de recherche du Canada en interventions assistées et en imagerie médicale utilise des technologies d'imagerie médicale et des algorithmes de calcul pour mieux aider les médecins à traiter leurs patients. Les efforts de recherche menés par la Chaire visent le développement de nouveaux traitements personnalisés et guidés par l'image pour diagnostiquer et traiter les troubles neurologiques et des maladies comme le cancer du foie.
Les thérapies personnalisées et guidées par l'image jouent un rôle de plus en plus essentiel lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre en charge des patients présentant des troubles neurologiques et des maladies comme le cancer du foie. Par exemple, les interventions guidées par l'image peuvent intégrer l'imagerie diagnostique à haute définition et les ultrasons en temps réel pour faciliter le repérage de tissus ou de cibles.
Les traitements personnalisés jouent aussi un rôle clé dans la création de modèles virtuels propres au patient, la découverte de nouveaux médicaments et la maximisation de traitements personnalisés en utilisant des formes complémentaires de modalités d'imagerie qui, autrement, ne seraient pas disponibles au cours d'interventions guidées par l'image et minimalement invasives.
Samuel Kadoury, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en interventions assistées et en imagerie médicale, étudie la conception de technologies novatrices qui fourniront un diagnostic et un traitement personnalisés en fonction des besoins du patient. Ses travaux se concentrent sur la création de nouveaux algorithmes de calcul dans le génie biomédical et l'imagerie médicale pour mieux comprendre le développement des organes et des maladies en termes de temps et d'espace.
M. Kadoury cherche aussi à élaborer des moyens précis de mener des interventions guidées par l'image qui exploreront la phase préparatoire à l'aide d'une collection d'images. Il examinera aussi de nouvelles technologies sur le suivi des instruments qui permettront d'améliorer le travail des radiologistes et des chirurgiens. Il met aussi au point des approches non invasives pour assurer le suivi des traitements.
La recherche de Samuel Kadoury mènera à la mise au point de nouveaux traitements personnalisés et guidés par l'image pour améliorer la sécurité des patients, réduire le risque de complications et permettre de freiner la croissance des coûts de santé.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions