Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Multiscale Modelling of Advanced Aerospace Materials

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

The Canada Research Chair in Multiscale Modelling of Advanced Aerospace Materials models advanced aerospace materials and processes to predict their long-term performance.  Its research efforts will lead to accurate and efficient computer models to predict the mechanical response of materials and processes used in the aerospace industry

 Aerospace innovations are driven by the use of lighter and more resistant materials. One innovation that is increasingly being used in civil aircraft is lighter-than-metal composite materials. Another is shot peening—a process that modifies the mechanical properties of metals, which can extend the lives of some metallic parts by 20 times. However, the Canadian aerospace industry lacks the scientific and technical skills to fully integrate these advanced materials in the design process.

Materials failure and damage mechanisms are immensely complex phenomena. Defects at the atomic scale can lead to small cracks, which can develop into larger cracks and ultimately lead to catastrophic failure. As the service life of materials is driven by a broad spectrum of factors that can occur over time, a number of approaches must be developed to take all of them into account.

Dr. Martin Lévesque, Canada Research Chair in Multiscale Modelling of Advanced Aerospace Materials, is developing and testing new models to evaluate the mechanical response of advanced materials used in the aerospace industry. Lévesque is focusing his efforts on predicting the long-term response of composites in service conditions. He is also predicting the effects of shot peening on metal fatigue and developing cost-effective and innovative procedures to test materials under complex load and environmental conditions.

The models Lévesque develops will allow the Canadian aerospace industry to design lighter and safer aircraft parts that will consume less fuel and require less energy to be manufactured, thus decreasing the environmental footprint of air travel.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

External Sources of Funding

NSERC, CFI, FQRNT, Bombardier, Pratt and Whitney, Bell Helicopter, Rolls Royce, L3-Communications, Heroux Devtek, Airbus, Velan, Hydro-Québec, Alstom, CRIAQ, Sonaca

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en modélisation multi-échelles de matériaux aérospatiaux de pointe

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

La Chaire de recherche du Canada en modélisation à échelles multiples de matériaux aérospatiaux de pointe modélise des matériaux et des processus aérospatiaux de pointe pour prédire leur rendement à long terme. La Chaire développe des modèles informatiques précis et efficaces pour prédire la réponse mécanique de matériaux et de processus utilisés dans l'industrie aérospatiale.

Les innovations aérospatiales reposent sur l'utilisation de matériaux plus légers et plus résistants. L'une de ces innovations de plus en plus utilisée dans les aéronefs civils est un matériau plus léger que les matériaux composites métalliques. Le nettoyage par grenaillage en est une autre – il s'agit d'un processus qui modifie les propriétés mécaniques des métaux, ce qui peut prolonger de 20 fois la vie de certaines parties métalliques. Toutefois, l'industrie aérospatiale canadienne n'a pas les compétences scientifiques techniques nécessaires pour intégrer pleinement ces matériaux de pointe au processus de conception.

Les mécanismes d'endommagement et de rupture des matériaux sont des phénomènes très complexes. Des défectuosités à l'échelle atomique peuvent causer de petites fissures, qui peuvent s'élargir et entraîner une rupture catastrophique. Étant donné que la vie utile des matériaux repose sur un vaste éventail de facteurs pouvant survenir au fil du temps, il est nécessaire de développer un certain nombre d'approches afin d'en tenir compte.
Martin Lévesque, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en modélisation à échelles multiples de matériaux aérospatiaux de pointe, développe et teste de nouveaux modèles pour évaluer la réponse mécanique de matériaux de pointe utilisés dans l'industrie aérospatiale. Il concentre ses efforts sur la prédiction de la réponse à long terme de composites à l'état de service. Il prédit aussi les effets du nettoyage par grenaillage sur la fatigue du métal et élabore des procédures économiques et novatrices pour tester des matériaux dans des conditions de charge et des conditions environnementales complexes.

Les modèles qu'élabore Martin Lévesque permettront à l'industrie aérospatiale canadienne de concevoir des parties d'aéronefs plus légères et plus sécuritaires. Ces derniers consommeront moins de carburant et leur fabrication exigera moins d'énergie, ce qui diminuera l'empreinte environnementale du transport aérien.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

Sources de financement externe

NSERC, CFI, FQRNT, Bombardier, Pratt and Whitney, Bell Helicopter, Rolls Royce, L3-Communications, Heroux Devtek, Airbus, Velan, Hydro-Québec, Alstom, CRIAQ, Sonaca

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions