Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Fabricating Microsystems and Advanced Materials

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Expertises

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

Many of today's high-tech products are approaching their technological limits. For example, the microelectronics industry is faced with overheating cell phones and tablets as consumers demand more compact designs and less power consumption; the aerospace industry wants lighter, stiffer, more conductive materials to create more energy-efficient aircraft.

A promising solution to these problems and others is to capitalize on the amazing properties of nanoscopic materials. But to make the most of these materials, which are smaller than a billionth of a meter, it's essential to resolve some processing and manufacturing challenges—particularly in terms of using nanoscopic properties at the industrial scale and developing a truly 3D production method. 3D printing—which turns 3D digital models into physical objects—has the potential to change the way we make everything from food and toys to complex aircraft components.

Dr. Daniel Therriault, Canada Research Chair in Fabrication of Advanced Microsystems and Materials, studies the entire span of high-end printing applications, from material design to fabrication. On the material side, he mixes nanoscopic materials inside different kinds of plastics (or polymers) to create new materials with greatly improved electrical and mechanical properties. On the manufacturing side, he pushes the boundaries of 3D printing by designing structures with freeform and extremely fine resolution features.

Therriault's research will help create revolutionary products for the aerospace, microelectronics and biomedicine industries using greener materials, and will contribute to the creation of greener aircraft.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en fabrication de microsystèmes et matériaux avancés

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Expertises

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

Un grand nombre des produits de haute technologie se rapprochent aujourd'hui de leurs limites technologiques. Par exemple, parce que les consommateurs exigent des modèles plus compacts et moins énergivores, l'industrie de la microélectronique est confrontée au problème des téléphones cellulaires et des tablettes qui surchauffent; l'industrie aérospatiale veut des matériaux plus légers, plus rigides et plus conducteurs pour créer des avions plus éconergétiques.

Une solution prometteuse à ces problèmes et à d'autres consiste à miser sur les propriétés extraordinaires des matériaux nanoscopiques. Mais pour profiter au maximum de ces matériaux, qui mesurent moins d'un milliardième de mètre, il faut absolument relever certains défis en matière de transformation et de fabrication, en particulier sur le plan de l'utilisation des propriétés nanoscopiques à l'échelle industrielle et de l'élaboration d'une méthode de production vraiment 3D. L'impression 3D – qui transforme des modèles numériques en objets physiques – a le potentiel de changer la façon dont nous fabriquons tout, des aliments aux jouets, en passant par les pièces d'avion complexes.

Daniel Therriault, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en fabrication de microsystèmes et matériaux de pointe, étudie l'éventail des applications d'impression de haut niveau, de la conception des matériaux à la fabrication. Sur le plan des matériaux, il mélange des matériaux nanoscopiques avec différents types de plastiques (ou polymères) pour créer de nouveaux matériaux aux propriétés électriques et mécaniques grandement améliorées. Sur le plan de la fabrication, il repousse les frontières de l'impression 3D en concevant des structures avec une grande liberté et une résolution très fine.

Les recherches de M. Therriault permettront de créer des produits révolutionnaires pour les industries l'aérospatiale, de la microélectronique et de la biomédecine en utilisant des matériaux plus verts, et elles contribueront à la conception d'avions plus respectueux de l'environnement.
 

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions