Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Earthquake Resistance Design and Construction of Building Structures

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Expertises

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

The Canada Research Chair in Earthquake Resistance Design and Construction of Building Structures executes analytical and experimental studies of the response of building structures to earthquake-induced ground motions. The research is aimed at developing cost efficient design provisions for a uniform level of protection against earthquakes across the country and new construction techniques to improve the seismic resistance of building structures.
The ground-shaking from earthquakes produces severe damage to manmade structures such as buildings, dams, and bridges, with many casualties and significant economic losses. In Canada, we have several populated areas that are prone to earthquakes and the structures located in these regions must be designed and built to withstand the effects of strong seismic ground motions.
Dr. Robert Tremblay is devoting part of his time as a Canada Research Chair to examining the responses of different building systems to different types of seismic ground motions that may occur in various parts of the country. He is also conducting research to improve our knowledge of the complex, multi-faceted behaviour of building structures when hit by strong earthquakes.
Employing the latest available seismological data, Dr. Tremblay is performing numerical simulations of building responses, as calculated using computer models of building structures subjected to seismic induced motions. Large-scale tests will also be carried out in the laboratory on key structural components. These tests are essential to validate the numerical models and verify the performance of structural elements under severe loading conditions. Realistic earthquake loads are imposed in the tests using high-performance loading equipment and sophisticated control techniques.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

Specialized Equipments

N/A

External Sources of Funding

Canada Research Chairs

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en conception et construction parasismiques des structures de bâtiments

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Expertises

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

La Chaire de recherche du Canada en conception et construction parasismiques des structures de bâtiments effectue des études analytiques et expérimentales sur la réaction des constructions aux mouvements du sol provoqués par les tremblements de terre. Les travaux de recherche menés visent l'élaboration de mesures de conception économiques pour assurer un niveau uniforme de protection contre les tremblements de terre à la grandeur du pays et de nouvelles techniques de construction qui amélioreront la résistance des constructions aux secousses sismiques.
Les mouvements de sol résultant des tremblements de terre endommagent grandement les structures telles que les immeubles, les barrages et les ponts, causant de nombreux décès et d'importantes pertes économiques. Le Canada compte plusieurs régions peuplées qui sont sujettes aux tremblements de terre. Les structures qui s'y trouvent doivent être conçues de manière à résister aux effets des secousses sismiques de forte intensité.
M. Robert Tremblay, Ph.D., consacre une partie de ses efforts comme titulaire d'une chaire de recherche du Canada à l'examen des réactions de divers systèmes de construction aux types de secousses sismiques pouvant survenir dans différentes parties du pays. Il mène aussi une recherche visant à améliorer notre connaissance du comportement complexe des constructions soumises à des tremblements de terre de forte intensité.
Au moyen des toutes dernières données sismologiques, M. Tremblay réalise des simulations numériques des réactions des immeubles, calculées à l'aide de modèles informatiques de constructions soumises à des mouvements de sol causés par des tremblements de terre. Des essais à grande échelle seront aussi effectués en laboratoire sur les principaux éléments structuraux. Ces essais sont essentiels à la validation des modèles numériques et à la vérification de la performance des éléments structuraux soumis à de fortes charges. Les essais donneront lieu à l'imposition de charges sismiques réalistes au moyen d'équipement de chargement à haut rendement et de techniques de contrôle perfectionnées.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

Équipements spécialisés

N/D

Sources de financement externe

Chaires de recherche du Canada

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions