Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Future Photonics Systems

Affiliated To

Expertises

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

Photonics is the branch of physics that deals with the properties and applications of photons especially as a medium for transmitting information. Although it has enabled our high-tech society to communicate across the world with relative ease, our appreciation of power of photonics is still in its infancy.

For advanced optical processing, it is often necessary to influence properties such as the phase and amplitude of photons. An elegant approach involves the use of a semi-infinitely long diffractive device. Dr. Raman Kashyap has some creative and original ideas on how to create these diffractive devices in two and three dimensions and also how to make them "tuneable." The ability of these diffractive devices to be tuneable makes them invaluable to researchers who are desperately in need of solutions for all optical transparent communication networks.

Dr. Kashyap's research has led him into the field of photonic band-gap materials, also known as photonic crystals, in which "artificial" structures are created to modify how light is entrapped. For example, in these perfect artificial structures, light may not be allowed to escape, leading to a compact optical memory function, which is a highly desirable function for a vast number of applications in medicine, communications and computer storage, and one which increases our technological capability by orders of magnitude.

Connections have always played a significant part in Dr. Kashyap's reality. For example, he invented a method for making infinitely long diffractive devices in optical fibre, by recognizing the infinite movement of a point on the surface of a rotating wheel. As the Canada Research Chair in Future Photonics Systems, Dr. Kashyap's objectives are to figure out how to simplify the traditionally complex methods for manipulating photons, in collaboration with many colleagues across the country and abroad.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

Specialized Equipments

N/A

External Sources of Funding

Canada Research Chairs

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les systèmes photoniques du futur

Affilié à

Expertises

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

 La photonique est la branche de la physique qui étudie les propriétés et les applications des photons, en particulier comme moyen de transmission de l'information. Bien qu'elle ait permise à notre société de haute technologie de communiquer à travers le monde assez facilement, notre appréciation de la puissance de la photonique est encore infime.

Afin d'effectuer un traitement optique avancé, il est souvent nécessaire d'agir sur certaines propriétés des photons telles que leur phase et leur amplitude. Une bonne approche consiste à utiliser un appareil diffractif semi-infiniment grand. Raman Kashyap a quelques idées créatives et originales sur la manière de créer ces appareils diffractifs en deux et en trois dimensions, ainsi que sur la manière de les « accorder ». En effet, l'aptitude de ces appareils à être accordé les rend très précieux pour les chercheurs qui ont désespérément besoin de trouver des solutions pour tous les réseaux optiques transparents de communication.

La recherche de M. Kashyap touche le domaine des matières à interdiction photonique, également appelées cristaux photoniques, dans lequel les structures « artificielles » sont créées pour modifier la façon dont la lumière est attrapée. Par exemple, dans ces structures artificielles parfaites, la lumière ne peut pas s'échapper, ce qui crée une fonction à mémoire optique compacte. Il s'agit là d'une fonction nécessaire pour un grand nombre d'applications en médicine, en communication et en stockage informatique, et qui permet d'augmenter notre capacité technologique par ordre de magnitude.

Les connections ont toujours joué un rôle significatif dans le monde de M. Kashyap. Par exemple, en reconnaissant le mouvement infini d'un point sur la surface d'un gyroscope, il a inventé une méthode permettant de fabriquer des appareils diffractifs infiniment grands dans la fibre optique. En tant que titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les systèmes photoniques futurs, l'objectif de M. Kashyap est de trouver, en collaboration avec de nombreux collègues au Canada et à l'étranger, comment simplifier les méthodes traditionnelles complexes de manipulation des photons.

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

Équipements spécialisés

N/D

Sources de financement externe

Chaires de recherche du Canada

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions