Polytechnique > Research > Directory > A research unit

Directory of Expertises

Canada Research Chair in Electromagnetic Metamaterials

Affiliated To

Contact Information

Expertises

Professors/Researchers

Research Specification

Electromagnetic metamaterials are artificial materials made of “molecules” that can be tailored to show properties not available in other materials—for example, negative refraction slabs or invisibility cloaking shells. They have helped advance multiple frontiers of science over the past two decades, and the 21st century will likely see them spark a second industrial revolution.

Most metamaterial structures and devices are static in time, meaning their states are fixed. Making them dynamic (changeable over time) gives them an extra dimension (time), diversifying their properties and expanding their potential uses. Dr. Christophe Caloz, Canada Research Chair in Electromagnetic Metamaterials, is exploring a host of novel related metamaterials.

To increase the diversity and potential of these metamaterials, Caloz relies on physicomimetics (a process whereby metamaterials mimic existing physics while offering extra properties, thanks to their “tailorable” nature) and multi-scale/physics concepts (which involves adapting metamaterials to offer more benefits by combining them with millimetre-, micrometre-, nanometre-, molecular-, or atomic-scale substances that show useful physical properties on their own). This research requires a multidisciplinary approach, because it incorporates aspects of electromagnetics, optics, condensed matter physics, classical and quantum electrodynamics, material sciences, and chemistry.

The devices and systems developed in Caloz's laboratory are highly varied and have potential applications in many different fields. They include metasurfaces for tomorrow's terahertz instrumentation and sensing systems; magnet-free nonreciprocal and highly sensitive nonlinear structures for next-generation electronic, terahertz and photonic sensors; antennas and wireless transmissions; phasers for real-time signal processing; and generalized space-time processors for myriad applications across the entire electromagnet spectrum.

Research Personnel

  • Professors/Researchers: 1

Specialized Equipments

N/A

External Sources of Funding

Canada Research Chairs

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Répertoire des expertises

Chaire de recherche du Canada en métamatériaux électromagnétiques

Affilié à

Coordonnées

Expertises

Professeurs / Chercheurs

Descriptif de la recherche

Les métamatériaux électromagnétiques sont des matériaux artificiels composés de « molécules » qui peuvent être adaptées pour manifester des propriétés non disponibles dans d'autres matériaux – par exemple, des dalles à réfraction négative ou des capes d'invisibilité. Ils ont permis de repousser plusieurs limites de la science au cours des deux dernières décennies, et nous les verrons probablement déclencher une seconde révolution industrielle au cours du 21e siècle.

La plupart des structures et dispositifs de métamatériaux sont statiques dans le temps, ce qui signifie que leur état est fixe. Le fait de les rendre dynamiques (variables au fil du temps) leur confère une autre dimension (le temps), diversifiant ainsi leurs propriétés et élargissant leurs utilisations potentielles. Christophe Caloz, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en métamatériaux électromagnétiques, explore une foule de nouveaux métamatériaux connexes.

Dans le but d'accroître la diversité et le potentiel de ces métamatériaux, M. Caloz s'appuie sur la physicomimétique (un processus par lequel des métamatériaux reproduisent des caractéristiques physiques existantes, tout en présentant d'autres propriétés, grâce à leur nature « modulable ») et sur des concepts multiéchelles/physiques (qui supposent l'adaptation des métamatériaux pour offrir d'autres avantages en les combinant à des substances à l'échelle millimétrique, micrométrique, nanométrique, moléculaire ou atomique qui ont elles-mêmes des propriétés physiques utiles). Ces travaux supposent une approche multidisciplinaire, parce qu'ils intègrent des aspects d'électromagnétique, d'optique, de physique de la matière condensée, d'électrodynamique classique et quantique, de la science des matériaux et de chimie.

Les appareils et les systèmes conçus dans le laboratoire de M. Caloz sont extrêmement variés et ont des applications potentielles dans de nombreux domaines. Mentionnons entre autres des métasurfaces qui transforment les ondes multiples pour l'instrumentation térahertz et les systèmes de détection de demain; des structures non linéaires non réciproques et très sensibles, sans aimants, pour la prochaine génération de capteurs électroniques, térahertz et photoniques; des antennes et transmissions sans fil; des déphaseurs pour le traitement de signal en temps réel; et des processeurs spatio-temporels généralisés pour une multitude d'applications pour l'ensemble du spectre de l'électroaimant.


 

Personnel de recherche

  • Professeurs / chercheurs : 1

Équipements spécialisés

N/D

Sources de financement externe

Chaires de recherche du Canada

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions