NSERC Environmental Design Chair

Send

Print

Size: A A A

Français

Logo du site
[AVERTISSEMENT ~ sitemanager._fetch_quick_links(): Erreur de lecture du fichier de liens rapides!]
 
 

Polytechnique > I3P > Biorefinery

Biorefinery

The Forest Biorefinery in the Pulp and Paper Industry

The North American pulp and paper industry is in an “economic stalemate” suffering from the pressure of several factors that are impacting the wealth and competitive position of the industry. The rise in the Canadian dollar, the increasing cost of the fibre, the rise in energy cost compiled with the lack of investment represent a perfect storm for the industry (Fig.1). The Canadian pulp and paper mills are strongly affected by the competition from Latin and Asian efficient, large and modern industries. In response to this uncertain climate, many companies are developing “survival strategies” such as mergers and acquisitions and belt tightening to consolidate their assets and reduce their operating costs. Nevertheless, this commodity-based industry is suffering from a lack of innovation and proactivity on the market. However the forest biorefinery opportunity offers the chance to the pulp and paper mills to diversify their core business and regain in competitiveness.


Fig.1 Economic Stalemate of the North American Pulp and Paper Industry

The forest biorefinery has been defined as the “full integration of the incoming biomass and other raw materials, including energy, for simultaneous production of fibers for paper products, chemicals and energy”.
By integrating forest biorefinery activities at an existing plant, pulp and paper mills have the opportunity to generate significant amount of bio-energy and bio-products and to drastically increase their revenues while continuing to produce traditional wood, pulp and paper products. R&D and improvements in new generation of technologies such as thermochemical, biochemical and chemical pathways will enable the rapid and efficient development of the forest biorefinery. Manufacturing new value-added by-products - as bio-fuels, bulk and specialty chemicals and pharmaceuticals (Fig.2) - from a near zero-value production waste, the forest biorefinery could help pulp and paper mills to preserve skilled jobs, revitalize manufacturing facilities and regain a competitive position.


Fig.2 Evolving towards the Forest Biorefinery
Agenda 2020 website

How to implement strategically and in a sustainable context the forest biorefinery at a given mill is not an obvious question. No single industry-wide solution exists. Offering a complex array of process and product opportunities (Fig.3), the forest biorefinery dilemma needs to be strategically investigated at each mill in order to optimize process design and to identify viable products that can be economically produced. Determining the best combination process-product at each mill taking into account plant location, installed process and feedstock symbiosis as well as synergies and partnership opportunities is a required and essential step to move forward a sustainable and viable forest biorefinery project.

 
Fig.3 Selecting the Best Biorefinery Products and Processes from a Complex Array of Opportunities
Adapted from FERIC

The systematic approach elaborated by our Chair in order to address forest biorefinery opportunities, is built on the definition of a methodology to drive the biorefinery decision making with particular attention given to product and process design (Fig.4). The result of the analysis developed in the product design provides the product and business basis for the process design step. This process design methodology includes systems analysis of new processes using integration tools. Multi-criteria decision-making (MDCM) combines the set of outcomes from the process analysis. This approach can help pulp and paper mills to optimize the product design – business plan development- and the process design – technological strategic decision.
This approach is going to be developed in concrete case studies. Benefiting from a broad network of pulp and paper mills, students will be working at applying these tools to several cases all over Canada.

This unique approach positions our chair as a leader in applying advanced product and process design methodologies. This model has been presented during conferences in North America and is currently used as system design for several national and regional initiatives.

 
Fig.4 Designing the Forest Biorefinery

Publications et présentations

CHAMBOST, V., STUART, P.R., 2007, “Selecting the Most Appropriate Products for the Forest Biorefinery”, Industrial Biotechnology, 3:2, pp. 112-119.
CHAMBOST, V., EAMER, B., STUART, P.R., 2007, «Forest Biorefinery: Getting on with the Job», Pulp & Paper Canada, 108:2, pp. 18-22.
CHAMBOST, V., EAMER, R., STUART, P.R., 2007, “Systematic Methodology for Identifying Promising Forest Biorefinery Products”, 93rd Pulp & Paper Technical Association of Canada (PAPTAC) Conference, Montreal, QC, QC, B161-167 & Pulp & Paper Canada, 108 :6, pp. 30-35.
STUART, P.R., 2007, “Technology and economic risks associated with the forest biorefinery”, Guest Speaker at the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Annual Meeting, San Francisco E.U.
CHAMBOST V., STUART, P.R., 2006, “Development of the Canadian Forest Biorefinery: Establishing Winning Conditions”, Technology Seminar jointly organized with the CQVB “Bioraffinerie forestière : une voie pour l’industrie papetière?”  Montreal, QC.
WISING, U., STUART, P.R. 2006, « Identifying the Canadian Forest Biorefinery », Pulp & Paper Canada, 107:6, pp. 25-30.
STUART, P.R., 2006, «The Forest Biorefinery: Survival Strategy for Canada’s Pulp & Paper Sector?», Pulp & Paper Canada, 107:6, pp. 13-16.

Éditoriaux

STUART, P.R., 2006, « The Forest Biorefinery: Survival Strategy for Canada’s Pulp and Paper Sector», 107:6, pp. 13-16.
STUART, P.R., 2006, « The Made-in-Canada Energy Strategy», Actualité chimique canadienne (ACCN), 2006:9, p. 2.
ORZECHOWSKA, A., 2005, « Saving the Canadian Industry : Discussing possible solutions », 106 :1, pp. 25-27.

 

[ERREUR ~ sitemanager.echo_contact_box(): ]

Chaire CRSNG en génie de conception environnementale

Envoyer

Imprimer

Taille : A A A

English

Logo du site

-X-
 
 

Polytechnique > I3P > Bioraffinerie

Bioraffinerie

La bioraffinerie forestière dans l'industrie papetière

L'industrie nord américaine des pâtes et papiers est dans une impasse économique, souffrant notamment de la pression exercée par différents facteurs de marché affaiblissant  sa santé financière et sa position compétitive. L'envolée du dollar canadien, l'augmentation des coûts de la fibre, la croissance de la facture énergétique ainsi que le manque d'investissement caractérisent les facteurs de cette « crise » (Fig.1). Les usines papetières canadiennes sont affectées durement par la pression concurrentielle des industries d'Amérique Latine et d'Asie, plus efficaces, modernes et productives. En réponse à ce climat incertain, la plupart des compagnies se réfugient dans des « stratégies de survie » comme des décisions de fusions et acquisitions afin de consolider leurs actifs et réduire leurs coûts opérationnels. Néanmoins, cette industrie concentrée sur la production de commodités souffre prioritairement d'un manque de culture d'innovations et de pro activité sur le marché. Cependant, la bioraffinerie forestière offre des opportunités de diversification stratégique intéressantes qui pourraient soutenir la course à une position compétitive plus solide des papetières.


Fig.1 L'impasse économique de l'industrie papetière nord américaine

La bioraffinerie forestière a été définie comme « l'intégration complète de la biomasse entrante et d'autres matières premières, incluant l'énergie, pour produire des fibres afin de développer simultanément des pâtes et papiers ainsi que des chimiques et de l'énergie ». En intégrant des activités de bioraffinage forestier à une installation papetière en opération, les usines auront l'opportunité de générer des volumes énergétiques intéressants ainsi que de développer une gamme de bioproduits  importante et ainsi d'augmenter considérablement leurs revenus tout en poursuivant leur activité traditionnelle de production de pâtes et papiers. Les avancées en R&D et la nouvelle génération de technologies telles que les voies thermochimiques, biochimiques et chimiques permettent le développement rapide et efficace d'activités de bioraffinage. Favorisant la production de coproduits à valeur ajoutée, comme les biocarburants, les chimiques de spécialité et les pharmaceutiques (Fig.2), à partir de déchets de production, la bioraffinerie forestière peut contribuer à la revitalisation du secteur et au regain  de compétitivité sur le marché.


Fig.2 Evoluant vers la bioraffinerie forestière
Agenda 2020 website

Comment implanter stratégiquement et durablement des activités de bioraffinage forestier n'est pas une question évidente. Aucune solution globale n'existe pour le secteur papetier. Tout en offrant une gamme complexe de possibilités en termes de procédés et de produits (Fig.3), les opportunités de bioraffinage forestier doivent être stratégiquement examinées dans le cas de chaque usine afin d'optimiser la conception des procédés et d'identifier une gamme de produits économiquement intéressante. Déterminer la meilleure combinaison procédés-produits pour chaque usine en tenant compte des procédés actuels, des opportunités de symbiose de matières premières ainsi que des synergies et des partenariats potentiels, est une étape essentielle afin de développer un projet de bioraffinage forestier économiquement viable et durable.

 
Fig.3 Sélection des meilleurs produits et procédé de bioraffinage dans un éventail complexe d'opportunités
Adapted from FERIC

L'approche systématique développée par notre chaire afin d'analyser les opportunités offertes par la bioraffinerie forestière est basée sur la définition d'une méthodologie pour guider la prise de décision en portant une attention particulière au design de produit et de procédé (Fig.4). Le résultat de l'analyse conduite sur le design de produit fournit les bases commerciales et marketing pour l'étape d'analyse du design de procédé. La méthodologie élaborée pour le design de procédé inclut l'application d'outils d'analyse de systèmes. La prise de décision multicritères combine les résultats concrets émanant de l'analyse des systèmes de procédés. Cette approche peut aider les usines papetières à développer un plan d'affaires adéquat et à prendre des décisions technologiques optimales.

Bénéficiant d'un réseau important constitué d'industries papetières et de partenaires publiques et privés, les étudiants travailleront à l'application directe de ces méthodes d'analyse par le biais d'études de cas.

Cette approche unique positionne notre chaire comme leader dans l'application de méthodologies de design de produit et de procédé. Ce modèle a été présenté lors de conférences en Nord Amérique et est actuellement utilisé comme design de système dans le cadre de plusieurs initiatives régionales et nationales auxquels nos étudiants participent.

 
Fig.4 Design pour la bioraffinerie forestière

Publications et présentations

CHAMBOST, V., STUART, P.R., 2007, “Selecting the Most Appropriate Products for the Forest Biorefinery”, Industrial Biotechnology, 3:2, pp. 112-119.
CHAMBOST, V., EAMER, B., STUART, P.R., 2007, «Forest Biorefinery: Getting on with the Job», Pulp & Paper Canada, 108:2, pp. 18-22.
CHAMBOST, V., EAMER, R., STUART, P.R., 2007, «Systematic Methodology for Identifying Promising Forest Biorefinery Products», 93e Conférence de l'Association technique des pâtes et papiers du Canada (ATPPC), Montréal, QC, B161-167 & Pulp & Paper Canada, 108 :6, pp. 30-35.
STUART, P.R., 2007,  «Technology and economic risks associated with the forest biorefinery», Conférencier invité à la rencontre annuelle de l'American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), San Francisco E.U.
CHAMBOST, V., STUART, P.R., 2006, «Development of the Canadian Forest Biorefinery: Establishing Winning Conditions», Séminaire technologique conjointement organisé avec le CQVB «Bioraffinerie forestière : une pour l'industrie papetière? »  Montréal, QC.
WISING, U., STUART, P.R. 2006, « Identifying the Canadian Forest Biorefinery », Pulp & Paper Canada, 107:6, pp. 25-30.
STUART, P.R., 2006, «The Forest Biorefinery: Survival Strategy for Canada's Pulp & Paper Sector?», Pulp & Paper Canada, 107:6, pp. 13-16.

Éditoriaux

STUART, P.R., 2006, « The Forest Biorefinery: Survival Strategy for Canada's Pulp and Paper Sector», 107:6, pp. 13-16.
STUART, P.R., 2006, « The Made-in-Canada Energy Strategy», Actualité chimique canadienne (ACCN), 2006:9, p. 2.
ORZECHOWSKA, A., 2005, « Saving the Canadian Industry : Discussing possible solutions », 106 :1, pp. 25-27.

 

Téléphone
(514) 340-4711

Télécopieur
(514) 340-5150

Courriel
pate-papier@polymtl.ca

Local
AA-6507,
Pavillon André-Aisenstadt