Institute of Nuclear Engineering

The SLOWPOKE Laboratory

The SLOWPOKE Laboratory

Image du SLOWPOKEThe main piece of equipment is the SLOWPOKE nuclear reactor. This small pool-type reactor operated from 1976 to 1997 with the original fuel, 1 kg of 93% enriched uranium. In 1997, thanks to an NSERC Major Installation Grant, the reactor was refuelled with 5 kg of uranium enriched to 20% in U-235. At full power of 20 kW, the neutron flux in the five inner irradiation sites of the reactor is 1012 /cm2/s. The power and the neutron flux are highly reproducible and the reactor can operate unattended for up to 24 hours. It is used mainly for neutron activation analysis and for the production of radioactive tracers. For irradiating materials, access to the neutrons is through pneumatic rabbit systems. One of the six rabbit systems is automated and can be programmed to send a set of samples directly from reactor to detector.

Instrumentation is also available for training nuclear engineering students in reactor kinetics.

Image du coeurThe neutron activation analysis laboratory adjacent to the reactor has four state of the art gamma-ray spectrometers with high-resolution germanium semiconductor detectors and mechanical sample changers.

Personnel

  • Cornelia Chilian, director of the SLOWPOKE Laboratory
    • neutron activation analysis
    • radioactive tracers
    • environmental radioactivity
  • Gregory Kennedy, associated professor
    • neutron activation analysis
    • radioactive tracers
  • Rahma Kada, research associate
    • neutron activation analysis

Research Program

1. Neutron Activation Analysis (NAA)

The Laboratory is used primarily for neutron activation analysis, which is a type of non-destructive chemical analysis used for measuring the concentrations of chemical elements in solids et liquids. When a substance is irradiated with neutrons it becomes radioactive and after it is removed from the reactor, atoms of the different elements emit gamma-rays which are detected.

Although NAA is a well established and reliable technique, the personnel of the SLOWPOKE Laboratory are looking for ways to improve it. We are currently working on a new standardization method which should improve the accuracy of the chemical analysis and we are developing gamma spectrometry software to improve the sensitivity and precision.

The users of the Laboratry come from Ecole Polytechnique, the University of Montreal and six other Quebec universities. The following examples illustrate the numerous areas of research benefitting from neutron activation analysis:

  • Geochemistry - for the determination of rare-earths and platinum group elements which yield information on the formation of rocks and mineral deposits.
  • Materials science - for verifying the composition of new materials.
  • Archaeology - the chemical composition of ancient metal, ceramic and lithic objects is used to determine their provenance.
  • Medicine - studies on the toxicity of trace metals.
  • Environment - studies of heavy metal pollution in air and water, emissions of metals from the combustion of petroleum products. The results of our major study on atmospheric emissions from automobiles were instrumental in convincing the government to approve a new gasoline additive, less polluting than previous additives, which will significantly improve the quality of the air in our cities.

2. Radioactive Tracers

An extensive collaboration has been established between the SLOWPOKE Laboratory and the chemical engineering department for the production and use of radioactive tracers for the study of flow dynamics in multiphase chemical reactors. For the measurement of residence time distributions, solids and gases are activated in the SLOWPOKE reactor and injected in the system under study and their movement is followed with several NaI detectors.

In a number of ongoing collaborations in medicine and pharmacy, radioactive tracers are used in animals and humans for the study of the dissolution of medication in the digestive system and distribution to various organs.

3. Environmental Radioactivity

Gamma-ray spectrometry are used to measure radionuclides in soil, water, building materials and food.

Cooperation with Industry

A major part of the funding of the Laboratory is derived from contracts with industry:

  • The petrochemical and metallurgical industries use NAA to verify the composition of their plastics and alloys.
  • The wood products industry uses NAA to measure the retention of chemical preservatives.
  • The toxic waste disposal industry uses the Labortory to identify and quantify radioisotopes in suspected radioactive substances.

For more information on the neutron activation analysis service, contact:

Address to send samples to be analyzed:
  • École Polytechnique
    attn. Cornelia Chilian
    2900 Édouard-Montpetit
    Montréal, Québec
    Canada H3T 1J4

École Polytechnique SLOWPOKE page

Consult the "Répertoire des expertises et des unités de recherche" of Polytechnique to know more about the SLOWPOKE laboratory.

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Find Peoble or units | Site plan | Key word search | Conditions(*) this link leads to a section in french.

Institut de génie nucléaire

Le laboratoire SLOWPOKE

Le laboratoire SLOWPOKE

Le réacteur nucléaire SLOWPOKE constitue la pièce d'équipement principale du Laboratoire. Il s'agit d'un petit réacteur de type piscine qui a fonctionné de 1976 à 1997 avec le combustible original, 1 kg d'uranium enrichi à 93% en U-235. En 1997, grâce à une subvention d'Installation Spéciale du CRSNG, le combustible a été remplacé par 5 kg d'uranium enrichi à 20% en U-235. À la pleine puissance de 20 kW, le flux de neutrons dans les cinq sites d'irradiation du réacteur est de 1012 /cm2/s. La puissance et le flux sont très reproductibles et le réacteur peut opérer en mode automatique sans surveillance directe. Des systèmes de navettes pneumatiques donnent accès aux neutrons. Le réacteur est doté d'une instrumentation qui permet la formation d'ingénieurs nucléaires en cinétique des réacteurs.

Le laboratoire d'analyse par activation neutronique adjacent au réacteur est muni de quatre spectromètres de rayons gamma incorporant chacun un détecteur au germanium semiconducteur de haute résolution. Ils utilisent des passeurs d'échantillons mécaniques et toutes les mesures sont gérées par ordinateur.

Le personnel du laboratoire

  • Cornelia Chilian, directrice du laboratoire SLOWPOKE
    • analyse par activation neutronique
    • traceurs radioactifs
    • radioactivité environnementale
  • Yves Drolet, technicien
    • analyse par activation neutronique

Programme de recherche

1. Analyse par activation neutronique (AAN)

Le Laboratoire est surtout utilisé pour l'analyse par activation neutronique, une méthode d'analyse chimique qui permet de mesurer, de façon instrumentale, les concentrations des éléments dans les substances solides et liquides. Il s'agit de bombarder la substance par des neutrons pour la rendre radioactive et ensuite de détecter les rayons gamma émis par les différents éléments.

Bien que l'AAN soit une technique bien établie, le personnel du Laboratoire cherche toujours à l'améliorer. Nous travaillons sur une nouvelle méthode de standardisation qui devrait permettre des analyses plus exactes et nous développons des logiciels de spectrométrie gamma afin d'améliorer la sensibilité et la précision.

Les utilisateurs du Laboratoire viennent de l'École Polytechnique, de l'Université de Montréal et de six autres universités au Québec. Les exemples suivants illustrent les nombreux domaines de recherche impliquant l'analyse par activation neutronique:

  • Géochimie, pour la détermination des éléments terres-rares et du groupe du platine qui sont d'importants outils d'étude de la formation des roches et des dépôts de minéraux.
  • Science des matériaux, pour la vérification de la composition des matériaux nouveaux.
  • Archéologie, la composition chimique d'objets céramiques, métalliques et lithiques anciens sert à déterminer leur provenance.
  • Médecine, études sur la toxicité des métaux.
  • Environnement, études sur la pollution de l'air et de l'eau par les métaux lourds, émissions de métaux à partir de la combustion des produits pétroliers. Les résultats de notre étude sur les émissions atmosphériques à partir de la combustion de l'essence dans les automobiles a contribué à convaincre le gouvernement d'approuver un nouvel additif, moins polluant que les précédents, ce qui améliora de façon significative la qualité de l'air de nos villes.

2. Traceurs radioactifs

Une collaboration étroite a été établie entre le Laboratoire et le département de génie chimique pour la production et l'utilisation des traceurs radioactifs pour l'étude de la dynamique des écoulements dans les réacteurs chimiques multiphasiques. Pour la mesure des temps de séjour dans les réacteurs chimiques, des solides et des gaz sont activés dans le SLOWPOKE et injectés dans le système sous étude. Leur mouvement est suivi par plusieurs détecteurs NaI.

Plusieurs autres collaborations sont en cours en médecine et en pharmacie où les traceurs radioactifs sont utilisés pour l'étude du taux de dissolution des médicaments dans le système digestif et leur répartition dans les organes chez l'animal et l'humain.

3. Radioactivité environnementale

La spectrométrie gamma servent à mesurer les radioisotopes dans le sol, dans l'eau, dans les matériaux de construction et dans la nourriture.

Coopération avec l'industrie

Une partie importante du financement du Laboratoire provient de contrats industriels:

  • Les industries pétrochimique et métallurgique utilisent l'AAN pour vérifier la composition de leurs plastiques et alliages.
  • L'industrie des produits forestiers utilise l'AAN pour mesurer la rétention des préservateurs chimiques.
  • Les compagnies qui traitent les déchets toxiques utilisent le Labortoire pour identifier et quantifier les radioisotopes dans les substances soupçonnées d'être radioactives.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le service d'analyse par activation neutronique, veuillez contacter:

On peut envoyer des échantillons pour analyse à l'adresse suivante:
  • École Polytechnique
    a/s Cornelia Chilian
    2900 Édouard-Montpetit
    Montréal, Québec
    Canada H3T 1J4

Page SLOWPOKEPOKE de l'École Polytechnique

Consultez le "Répertoire des expertises et des unités de recherche" de Polytechnique pour en savoir plus à propos du laboratoire SLOWPOKE.

 

© École Polytechnique de Montréal
Bottin | Plan du site | Recherche | Conditions