Living and studying in Montréal

As Québec’s metropolis and the second-largest French-speaking city in the world after Paris, Montréal distinguishes itself for being multicultural and cosmopolitan.

With more than 180,000 university students, Montréal has one of the highest concentrations of graduate students of all the cities in North America. The students are unanimous: Montréal is one of the nicest places to live and study in the world.

MONTRÉAL: STUDENT CITY PAR EXCELLENCE

Which is the best student city in the world? It’s not Paris or London or Boston, it’s right here, in Montreal! In an analysis of 100 world cities, Montreal has taken top honours in the 2017 edition of the QS Best Student Cities, compiled by the Quacquarelli Symonds Institute.
The British institute’s researchers posed a series of questions to students and graduates around the globe. The conclusion: those who were polled identified the Montréal’s multicultural character, bilingualism, student-centredness, identifying the city as the “cultural capital” of Canada.
Montreal can be proud of its reputation as one of the world’s most prestigious cities, and with good reason. Some large urban centres have lost their appeal for youth by seeming impersonal. Montreal has retained its conviviality while providing all the advantages of a big city, combining North American and European influences. The cultural life of the city is stimulating, offering a number of sporting activities, sumptuous green spaces, and a welcoming, bilingual population to attract more than 20,000 international students each year coming from 150 countries.

For more information: ville.montreal.qc.ca/en / tourisme-montreal.org

HOUSING

Despite the high occupancy level in Montréal, the possibilities for housing are numerous and Poly students are able to find a place to live very quickly, no matter the neighbourhood. In order to help you with your search, the institute has set up a housing database reserved for Polytechnique students. This tool will help you find your dream apartment or roommate!

For more information: polymtl.ca/logement (in French only)

Polytechnique students can also rent a studio at the Université de Montréal Residences, which is located a few minutes’ walk away from Polytechnique. The number of rooms, however, is limited.

For more information: residences-etu.ca (in French only)

TRANSPORTATION

The Société de transport de Montréal (STM) (local public transport authority) serves the entire island of Montréal with a metro and a bus network. Students under the age of 25 can benefit from a reduced monthly fee on the purchase of a card and it allows them unlimited travel throughout the entire network.

The city also has a large network of bike lanes and is the creator of the famous BIXI, a public bike sharing system. Its pedestrian network – indoor and outdoor – and its suburban trains also facilitate travel.

Taking a taxi in Montréal is very safe and also quite affordable. It’s in fact a means of transportation used a lot by students returning home at the early hours of the morning after the metro closes.

When it comes to cars, a student that has a valid study permit can drive using their country’s driver’s licence if it’s in French or in English. Otherwise, it’s recommended to get a translation or to get an international driver’s licence. For more information on foreign drivers’ licences, please consult the Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec.

UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL CAMPUS: AT THE HEART OF THE ACTION

With more than 8,200 students, Polytechnique is part of, along with HEC Montréal, the Université de Montréal campus who welcomes more than 66,500 students.

Located at the heart of Mont Royal, in a cosmopolitan neighbourhood near downtown, the campus is bordered by the chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges where you can find many businesses and services (restaurants, cafés, grocery stores, shops, medical clinics). Access to the campus is as easy by foot, by bicycle, by subway, by bus or by car. Whether you enjoy nature or downtown’s neon lights, you will not be disappointed... Prepare yourself to live a real campus life!

Legend: 01/ Main building – Polytechnique Montréal 02/ Lassonde Buildings – Polytechnique Montréal 03/ J-A Bombardier Building – Polytechnique Montréal 04/ University Housing 05/ Université de Montréal Physical Education and Sports Centre (CEPSUM) 06/ Université de Montréal Metro Station 07/ Main Building – Université de Montréal 08/ André-Aisenstadt Building – Université de Montréal.

Poly News

Living and studying in Montreal
20968463_224246961437120_5969256688849518592_n.jpg
Nouveau jeu: où est Poly? #Repost @photonimamtl (@get_repost) ・・・ . . . #udem #universitedemontreal #polymtl #polymtl2017 #polytechniquemontreal #polytechniquemtl #montreal #montréal #montreal375 #montrealphoto #mtlmoments #mtlblog #mtlshot #mtlphoto #mtlphotos #mtllife #quebec #québécois #québec #canada #explorecanada
Share
20398745_338566569906991_8095248127226806272_n.jpg
#Repost @tiptop_jc (@get_repost) ・・・ Un peu de nostalgie de mon ancienne école sur la montagne. #Montreal #polymtl
Share

VIVRE ET ÉTUDIER À MONTRÉAL

Métropole du Québec et deuxième ville francophone au monde après Paris, Montréal se distingue par ses accents multiculturels et cosmopolites.

Avec plus de 180 000 étudiants universitaires, elle compte une des concentrations les plus élevées d’étudiants postsecondaires de toutes les grandes villes d'Amérique du Nord. Les étudiants sont unanimes : Montréal est l’un des plus beaux endroits au monde où vivre et étudier. 

MONTRÉAL : VILLE ÉTUDIANTE PAR EXCELLENCE!

Quelle est la meilleure ville au monde pour étudier? Ce n’est ni Paris, ni Londres ni Boston, mais bel et bien Montréal! La métropole remporte en effet la première place dans l’édition 2017 du palmarès QS Best Student Cities réalisé par l’Institut Quacquarelli Symonds, sur 100 villes à travers le monde.
Pour parvenir à ce résultat, les chercheurs de l’institut britannique ont interrogé des étudiants et des diplômés aux quatre coins de la planète. Résultat : les personnes sondées ont souligné le caractère multiculturel, bilingue, centré sur les étudiants et inclusif de ce qu’ils considèrent comme la «capitale culturelle» du Canada.
Montréal peut se réjouir de s’être classée devant les métropoles les plus prestigieuses. Souvent jugés impersonnels, les vastes centres urbains ont perdu leur attrait aux yeux des étudiants qui leur préfèrent Montréal, laquelle sait se montrer conviviale tout en offrant les avantages d’une grande ville, mariant des influences nord-américaine et européenne. Sa vie culturelle stimulante, ses nombreuses activités sportives, ses somptueux espaces verts, sa population accueillante et bilingue séduisent d’ailleurs chaque année plus de 20 000 étudiants étrangers issus de 150 pays.

Pour en savoir plus : ville.montreal.qc.ca / tourisme-montreal.org

SE LOGER

Malgré le taux d’occupation élevé à Montréal, les possibilités de logement sont très nombreuses et les étudiants de Poly réussissent assez rapidement à trouver un endroit où habiter, peu importe leur quartier d’intérêt. Afin de faciliter vos recherches, l’établissement a mis sur pied une banque de logements informatisée, réservée aux étudiants de Polytechnique. À l’aide de cet outil, il vous sera possible de trouver l’appartement ou le coloc rêvé! Pour en savoir plus : polymtl.ca/logement

Les étudiants de Polytechnique peuvent aussi faire la location d’un studio aux Résidences étudiantes de l’Université de Montréal situées à quelques minutes de marche de l’établissement. Le nombre de chambres disponibles est cependant très limité. Pour en savoir plus : residences-etu.ca

SE DÉPLACER

Le système de transport en commun de Montréal – autobus, métro, trains de banlieue – accueille chaque jour des milliers de voyageurs. Montréal possède aussi un vaste réseau de pistes cyclables et est à l’origine du fameux BIXI, le système de vélopartage en libre-service. Son réseau piétonnier comprend également 32 kilomètres souterrains, permettant de fuir le froid hivernal. Les étudiants bénéficient généralement de tarifs avantageux pour la plupart des services. Pour en savoir plus : stm.info | rtm.quebec | montreal.bixi.com

Prendre un taxi à Montréal est très sécuritaire et reste relativement abordable. C'est notamment un moyen de transport très utilisé par les étudiants pour rentrer au petit matin après la fermeture des métros.

Pour ce qui est de la conduite automobile, un étudiant muni d'un permis d'études valide peut conduire avec son permis de conduire, si celui-ci est écrit en français ou en anglais. Sinon, il est recommandé d'avoir une traduction de ce document ou de se procurer un permis de conduire international. Pour plus de renseignements sur l'utilisation des permis de conduire étrangers, vous pouvez consulter la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec.

CAMPUS DE L’UNIVERSITÉ DE MONTRÉAL : 
AU CŒUR DE L’ACTION!

Avec plus de 8 200 étudiants, Polytechnique fait partie, avec HEC Montréal, du campus de l’Université de Montréal qui, lui, accueille plus de 66 500 étudiants. C'est une vraie petite ville à lui tout seul!

Situé en plein cœur du mont Royal et de ses espaces verts, dans un quartier cosmopolite près du centre-ville, le campus est bordé du chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges qui offre plusieurs commerces et services (restaurants, cafés, épiceries, boutiques, cliniques médicales). L’accès au campus se fait aussi bien à pied, à vélo, en métro, en autobus ou en voiture. Que vous soyez allumé par la nature ou les néons du centre-ville, vous trouverez assurément votre compte... Préparez-vous à vivre une vraie vie de campus!

Légende : 01 / Pavillon principal, Polytechnique Montréal 02 / Pavillons Lassonde, Polytechnique Montréal 03 / Pavillon J.-Armand-Bombardier, Polytechnique Montréal 04 / Résidences de l'Université de Montréal 05 / Centre d’éducation physique et des sports de l’Université de Montréal (CEPSUM) 06 / Station de métro Université-de-Montréal 07 / Pavillon principal, Université de Montréal 08 / Pavillon André-Aisenstadt, Université de Montréal

DES NOUVELLES DE POLY

Vivre et étudier à Montréal
20968463_224246961437120_5969256688849518592_n.jpg
Nouveau jeu: où est Poly? #Repost @photonimamtl (@get_repost) ・・・ . . . #udem #universitedemontreal #polymtl #polymtl2017 #polytechniquemontreal #polytechniquemtl #montreal #montréal #montreal375 #montrealphoto #mtlmoments #mtlblog #mtlshot #mtlphoto #mtlphotos #mtllife #quebec #québécois #québec #canada #explorecanada
Partager
20398745_338566569906991_8095248127226806272_n.jpg
#Repost @tiptop_jc (@get_repost) ・・・ Un peu de nostalgie de mon ancienne école sur la montagne. #Montreal #polymtl
Partager