Crepec > Research > Topics

Topics

High performance polymer systems

1.1 Polymer blends

Conventional polymers answer to performance criteria, are low cost and may be considered like a mature technology. Research focuses more and more towards materials with high functionality such as assembly of multi-phased materials with controlled permeability (material with barriers or materials with gas selective membranes) or even material with high electrical conductivity for use in electronics, combustion batteries, piezoelectric sensors or even barriers against electromagnetic interferences. Allying mechanical properties to functional ones has for consequence to combine different materials in multi-phase systems where the morphology plays a key part. The activities involved in this research theme include:

1.1-1 Synthesis and innovating compatibilizers
1.1-2 Study of interfaces
1.1-3 Process and property modelling
1.1-4 Development of innovating films and membranes
1.1-5 Development of electrotechnical materials

1.2 Bio-based polymers

Ten years ago, bio-based polymers (or bioplastics) where regarded as simple curiosities. The rapid development of biotechnologies, environmental awareness and rising costs of fossil resources have all contributed to transfering bioplastics from curiosity to realisations and success stories. Although still modest, the market share of bioplastics is sought to expand further and rises by 15% each year. In the US, the production volume expected for 2012 is 350 million kg; a total net value of 845M$. Packaging presents 70% of the market demand and will continue to represent the dominant application. These numbers show the significant long term growth potential of biopolymers. Substituting petroleum based product is not their sole advantage, some bioplastics are compostable, opening a number of pathways for product end of life when recycling is not feasible.

Though this growth is astonishing, the materials actually available on the market have some underwhelming performances and higher production costs. As with functional materials, solutions to the latter appear to be in the development of multi-phase systems through complementary bioplastics and addition of organic or inorganic fillers. The activities involved in this research theme include:

1.2-1 Morphological control
1.2-2 Natural fiber and nanoparticle reinforcements
1.2-3 Rheology and processability
1.2-4 Bioplastic crystallization
1.2-5 Processing and bioplastic final properties

High performance composite systems

2.1 Composite materials and high performance structures

The applications for composite materials have multiplied tremendously in the past 10 years. An impressive number of companies, big or small, located in the province of Quebec have integrated new technologies in terms of design, analysis, and production of materials and infrastructures. However, many companies often do not have the human and technological resources to follow this competitive market, putting them in a vulnerable situation against international and local rivals. In this context, all research activities of the center are aimed at supplying Quebec with engineers, know-how, tools and technologies for better use of composite materials. Hence, the research activities in this theme include:

2.1-1 Development of composite applied processes
2.1-2 Composite applied processes modeling
2.1-3 Composite material performance
2.1-4 Composite material performance modeling
2.1-5 Design and analysis of composite structures
2.1-6 Development of intelligent materials and structures

2.2 Nanostructured composites

Nanostructures composites made the appearance more than 20 years ago and have the potential to revolutionize the application and elaboration of composite materials. The atom-to-structure approach is possible with nanostructure composites and has impacts not only on the processing methods but the material properties. Nanocomposite research focuses on phenomenon at the molecular and even atomic scale. Knowledge on the impact of these phenomenon along the entire nanocomposite production chain of is crutial. In this context, all the activities of research of the center will focus on systemic and structured development of future composite materials. The research themes include:

2.2-1 Development of nanostructures composites and their processing
2.2-2 Nanostructured composites process modelling
2.2-3 Nanostructured particles performance modelling
2.2-4 Multi-scale composites
2.2-5 Micro and nanofabrication

Crepec > Recherche > Thèmes

Thèmes

Systèmes polymères à haute performance

1.1 Matériaux polyphasés fonctionnels

Les plastiques conventionnels répondent bien aux exigences de performance, sont de faible coût et peuvent être considérés comme un domaine technologique mature. Les recherches se tournent donc de plus en plus vers le développement de matériaux ayant des fonctionnalités accrues tels des assemblages multimatériaux ayant des perméabilités contrôlées (matériau barrière ou à l’inverse comme membrane facilitant le passage sélectif d’un seul gaz) ou encore des conductivités électriques permettant leur usage dans l’électronique, les piles à combustibles, les piézoélectriques ou encore comme barrière contre les interférences électromagnétiques. Le fait de devoir allier des caractéristiques mécaniques et fonctionnelles a souvent pour conséquence que l’on doive combiner différents matériaux en des systèmes polyphasiques où la morphologie jouera un rôle clé. Les activités programmées dans ce thème de recherche incluent :

1.1-1 Synthèse de polymères et compatibilisants innovants
1.1-2 Études des interfaces;
1.1-3 Modélisation de procédés/propriétés
1.1-4 Développement de pellicules et de membranes innovantes
1.1-5 Développement de matériaux électrotechniques

1.2 Polymères biosourcés

Il y a à peine 10 ans, le secteur des polymères biosourcés ou bioplastiques, était considéré comme une curiosité. Le développement rapide des biotechnologies, les considérations environnementales et la hausse du coût des ressources fossiles ont tous contribué à faire passer les bioplastiques du côté des réalisations et des « success stories ». Bien qu’encore modeste, la part de marché des bioplastiques est appelée à se développer et croît déjà de 15% par an. Aux États-Unis, le volume de production attendu pour 2012 a été estimé à 350 million de kg, d’une valeur totale de 845 millions $. L’emballage représente plus de 70% de la demande et continuera à être l’application dominante dans ce marché. Ces chiffres illustrent le potentiel de croissance important des bioplastiques à long terme. En plus de substituer des polymères pétroliers, certain bioplastiques sont compostables ce qui permet d’élargir les possibilités de valorisation en fin de vie lorsque le recyclage n’est pas viable.

Même si cette croissance est impressionnante, les matériaux actuellement disponibles sur le marché souffrent de plusieurs faiblesses au niveau de leur performance et d’un coût de fabrication plus élevé. Comme pour les matériaux fonctionnels, il apparait que les solutions passent par la génération de matériaux polyphasiques via le mélange de bioplastiques complémentaires et l’ajout de renforts organiques ou inorganiques. Les activités programmées dans ce thème sont :

1.2-1 Contrôle morphologique
1.2-2 Renforcement à l’aide de fibres naturelles et de nanoparticules
1.2-3 Rhéologie et « processabilité »
1.2-4 Cristallisation des bioplastiques
1.2-5 Mise en forme et propriétés finales

Systèmes composites à haute performance

2.1 Matériaux composites et structures à haute performance

L’application des matériaux composites a connu un essor foudroyant depuis les 10 dernières années. Un nombre impressionnant de compagnies québécoises petites et grandes ont embarqué dans cette vague qui secoue les méthodes traditionnelles utilisées pour la conception, l’analyse et la fabrication des produits et infrastructures. Souvent, ces compagnies ne sont pas outillées pour effectuer ce virage par manque de ressources technologiques et humaines. Ceci les met en position de vulnérabilité face à la forte compétition internationale. Dans ce contexte, toutes les activités de recherche du centre seront axées dans le but de fournir à notre société les ingénieurs, le savoir, les outils et les technologies du 21ème siècle pour une meilleure application des matériaux composites. Ainsi, les activités de recherche dans ce thème de recherche incluent :

2.1-1 Développement des procédés appliqués aux composites
2.1-2 Modélisation des procédés appliqués aux composites
2.1-3 Comportement des matériaux composites
2.1-4 Modélisation de la performance des composites
2.1-5 Conception et analyse de structures avec les composites
2.1-6 Développement de matériaux et structures intelligents

2.2 Matériaux composites nanostructurés

Les matériaux composites nanostructurés ont fait leur apparition il y a plus d’une vingtaine d’année et ont le potentiel de révolutionner l’application et l’élaboration des matériaux composites. En effet, une approche complètement différente qui consiste à partir de l’atome pour aboutir à une structure est envisageable avec les matériaux composites nanostructurés. Cette approche a un impact aussi bien sur la mise en forme que sur le comportement du matériau. Les recherches sur les matériaux nanostructurés portent sur des phénomènes à l’échelle moléculaire, voir atomique. Une compréhension de l’impact de ces phénomènes durant tout le processus d’élaboration du matériau composite nanostructuré est primordiale. Dans ce contexte, toutes les activités de recherche du centre seront axées pour développer les matériaux composites du futur de façon systématique et structurée. Ainsi, les activités de recherche dans ce thème de recherche incluent :

2.2-1 Développement de composites nanostructurés et de leurs procédés
2.2-2 Modélisation des procédés appliqués aux composites nanostructurés
2.2-3 Modélisation de la performance des composites nanostructurés
2.2-4 Composites multi-échelle
2.2-5 Microfabrication et nanofabrication